Wealthsimple vs moomoo
WealthScale is independent and not affiliated with Wealthsimple.
Wealthsimple vs moomoo is decided mostly by the accounts you need and how you like to buy. Wealthsimple offers the TFSA, RRSP, FHSA, RESP, RRIF, LIRA, LIF, joint and corporate accounts, fractional shares from $1 and dividend reinvestment, all with $0 commissions. moomoo Canada offers five accounts (cash, margin, TFSA, RRSP and spousal RRSP), no fractional shares and no DRIP, and charges by the share with minimums of CA$1.49 and US$1.99 an order. moomoo’s no-fee US dollars in a TFSA or RRSP and margin from 3.85% can still suit active US traders. Wealthsimple scores 4.2 / 5 (rank 4 of 13) and moomoo 3.7 / 5 (rank 8), as of October 23, 2026.
At a glance
Account coverage: Wealthsimple, clearly. moomoo states that it does not offer the FHSA, RESP, joint or corporate account, and its account list does not include the RRIF, LIRA or LIF. Wealthsimple offers all of them. It scores 5.0 on account types; moomoo scores 2.0.
Fractional shares and DRIP: Wealthsimple. Wealthsimple sells fractional shares from $1 and reinvests dividends automatically. moomoo says it does not support fractional shares and that DRIP is not available, so small deposits and dividends can sit in cash until they add up to a whole share.
Trading costs: Wealthsimple on commissions. Wealthsimple charges $0 on listed Canadian and US stocks and ETFs. moomoo charges CA$0.0149 a share (minimum CA$1.49) on Canadian trades and US$0.0099 a share (minimum US$1.99) on US trades. Wealthsimple’s cost score is 5.0 against moomoo’s 4.52.
US dollars and margin: moomoo on the sub-scores. moomoo’s TFSA and RRSP hold Canadian and US dollars with no fee stated, while Wealthsimple’s USD account, which can be added to a TFSA, FHSA, RRSP or RESP, costs $10 plus tax a month on Core. moomoo’s CAD margin starts at 3.85%, against 4.95% on Wealthsimple Core. moomoo wins US investing (4.5 against 3.5) and cash and margin (2.5 against 2.0).
Overall and for beginners: Wealthsimple. Wealthsimple scores 4.2 / 5 and ranks fourth of 13 overall; moomoo scores 3.7 / 5 and ranks eighth, as of October 23, 2026. For beginners the gap is wider: Wealthsimple first at 4.7 / 5, moomoo ninth at 3.5 / 5. Neither pays for its score.
Moomoo or Wealthsimple: category winners
| Category | Winner | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Overall broker score | Wealthsimple, 4.2 vs 3.7 | 4.225 against 3.657 before rounding; rank 4 against rank 8 of 13 |
| Account types | Wealthsimple, 5.0 vs 2.0 | FHSA, RESP, RRIF, LIRA, LIF, joint and corporate missing at moomoo |
| Cost sub-score | Wealthsimple, 5.0 vs 4.52 | $0 against $59.64 a year on our active profile; $0 against $17.88 buy-and-hold |
| Fractional shares | Wealthsimple | From $1; not supported at moomoo |
| Dividend reinvestment | Wealthsimple | Available; not available at moomoo |
| Platform features | Wealthsimple, 4 vs 3 | Fractional shares and DRIP count; moomoo has a desktop app |
| Beginners | Wealthsimple, 4.7 vs 3.5 | Rank 1 against rank 9 of 13 |
| US investing sub-score | moomoo, 4.5 vs 3.5 | TFSA and RRSP hold US dollars with no fee stated; Wealthsimple’s USD account costs $10 a month on Core; Wealthsimple’s $0 US trades earn 2 points against 1.5 for moomoo’s US$1.99 minimum |
| Score for US stocks | Wealthsimple, on the unrounded score | Both 4.0 / 5; 4.05 against 3.955; rank 4 against rank 5 of 13 |
| Cash and margin | moomoo, 2.5 vs 2.0 | CAD margin from 3.85% against 4.95% on Core |
| Options | Wealthsimple, 4.3 vs 3.7 | $0 a contract against US$0.65 |
| Safety | Tie, 4.0 each | Both state CIRO regulation and are on CIPF’s member list |
| Transferring out | Wealthsimple | $0 against $75 (full) or $50 (partial) per currency |
| Managed portfolios | Wealthsimple | No moomoo managed service in our data |
Wealthsimple vs moomoo side by side
| Feature | Wealthsimple | moomoo |
|---|---|---|
| Overall broker score | 4.2 / 5 (rank 4 of 13) | 3.7 / 5 (rank 8 of 13) |
| Score for US stocks | 4.0 / 5 (rank 4) | 4.0 / 5 (rank 5) |
| Score for beginners | 4.7 / 5 (rank 1) | 3.5 / 5 (rank 9) |
| Score for options | 4.3 / 5 (rank 2) | 3.7 / 5 (rank 5) |
| Account types | TFSA, RRSP, spousal RRSP, FHSA, RESP, RRIF, LIRA, LIF, non-registered, joint, corporate | Cash, margin, TFSA, RRSP, spousal RRSP |
| FHSA | Yes | Not available |
| RESP | Yes | Not available |
| RRIF, LIRA and LIF | Yes | Not listed |
| Joint and corporate | Yes | Not available |
| Canadian stocks and ETFs | $0 | CA$0.0049 commission plus CA$0.01 platform fee a share (CA$0.0149), minimum CA$1.49 an order |
| US stocks and ETFs | $0; pass-through exchange, ECN, TAF or ORF fees may apply to some orders | US$0.0049 commission plus US$0.005 platform fee a share (US$0.0099), minimum US$1.99 an order; SEC fee on sales |
| US dollars in a TFSA or RRSP | Yes, through a USD account ($10 plus tax a month on Core); also in an FHSA, spousal RRSP, LIRA or RESP, not a RRIF, spousal RRIF or LIF | Yes, CAD and USD; no fee stated |
| Cost to hold US dollars | USD account: $10 plus tax a month on Core; included for Premium and Generation | No fee stated |
| Fractional shares | Yes, from $1 | No |
| Dividend reinvestment (DRIP) | Yes, optional | No |
| Automatic investing | Recurring buys daily, weekly, every two weeks or monthly | Auto-invest available |
| US equity and ETF options | $0 a contract | US$0.65 a contract, minimum US$1 an order; platform fee waived until further notice |
| Exercise and assignment | US$45 for early exercise or a do-not-exercise instruction | No fee |
| Canadian options | Not published | Not listed |
| Minimum to open | None; Core starts at $1 | No minimum deposit, per moomoo’s FAQ |
| Account or inactivity fees | $0 | None; RRSP withdrawal CA$50 each |
| CAD margin rate | 4.95% Core; 4.45% Premium; 3.95% Generation | From 3.85% (as of November 3, 2025) |
| USD margin rate | 7.5% Core; 7% Premium; 6.5% Generation | From 6.4% |
| Interest on cash | Trading cash not published; Savings account 2.5% | Cash Sweep program; standard rate not published |
| Transfer-out fee | $0 | $75 full or $50 partial, per currency, plus sales tax |
| Transfers in | Other firm’s fee covered up to $150 per account on $25,000 or more | No charge listed for incoming transfers; reimbursement of the other firm’s fee described only in a promotion article |
| Platforms | Wealthsimple mobile app and web app | moomoo app, mobile and desktop |
| Managed portfolios | Managed Investing 0.5% on Core, 0.4% from $100,000; Automated Investing 0.25% | Not covered in our data |
| Regulation | Wealthsimple Investments Inc., a CIRO dealer member | Moomoo Financial Canada Inc., which states it is regulated by CIRO |
| CIPF protection | Yes | Yes |
| Current sign-up offer | 1% match on $25,000 or more transferred within 30 days of registering | Welcome share rewards at CA$1,000 or CA$8,000 of net deposits; dates not stated |
Use the broker cost calculator to see what a year of your own trades would cost at Wealthsimple, moomoo and every other broker we score.
1. Wealthsimple vs moomoo: Quick Verdict
Start with the account you need. If you want an FHSA for a first home, an RESP for a child, a RRIF in retirement, a LIRA from an old pension, or a joint or corporate account, moomoo does not offer or list it, and Wealthsimple does. That alone can settle the choice before price comes into it.
Then look at how you buy. Wealthsimple lets you invest exact dollar amounts in fractional shares, set recurring buys and reinvest dividends automatically, all at $0 commission. moomoo buys whole shares only, charges at least CA$1.49 or US$1.99 an order, and leaves dividends in cash. For someone investing $100 or $500 at a time, those differences matter more than any headline rate.
Where moomoo has an edge. Its TFSA and RRSP hold US dollars with no fee stated, and its CAD margin starts at 3.85%. Those earn moomoo the better sub-scores on US investing (4.5 against 3.5) and on cash and margin (2.5 against 2.0). These edges are not enough to outweigh its account list, its per-share pricing and its missing features.
| Factor | Weight in overall score | Wealthsimple | moomoo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cost | 35% | 5.0 | 4.52 |
| Account types | 15% | 5.0 | 2.0 |
| US investing | 15% | 3.5 | 4.5 |
| Cash and margin | 10% | 2.0 | 2.5 |
| Platform features | 15% | 4 | 3 |
| Safety | 10% | 4.0 | 4.0 |
| Overall (weighted) | 100% | 4.225, shown as 4.2 / 5 | 3.657, shown as 3.7 / 5 |
| Beginner platform (25% of beginners score) | Separate test | 5.0 | 2.5 |
| Options cost (50% of options score) | Separate test | 5.0 | 4.48 |
Why moomoo’s better US sub-score does not win the US stocks score. Our US stocks score weighs US investing at 40%, cost at 25%, account types, platform and safety at 10% each, and cash and margin at 5%. moomoo’s 1-point lead on US investing adds 0.4 to its score and its margin lead adds 0.025, but its lower cost (4.52 against 5.0), account (2.0 against 5.0) and platform (3 against 4) scores take away 0.12, 0.3 and 0.1. The result: Wealthsimple 4.05, moomoo 3.955, both shown as 4.0 / 5. Our cost factor adds up commissions and account fees for two trading profiles, and our US factor looks at US dollars in registered accounts and US commissions. Our broker rating methodology prints every weight, and how WealthScale makes money explains why no broker can pay for a better one.
2. Commissions: $0 vs Per-Share Minimums
Wealthsimple. $0 commission on listed Canadian and US stocks and ETFs, on every tier. Pass-through exchange, ECN, TAF or ORF fees may apply to some US-listed orders. The main cost left is the USD account, $10 plus tax a month on Core, if you want to hold US dollars (section 3).
moomoo: a commission plus a platform fee. On Canadian stocks and ETFs moomoo charges CA$0.0049 a share in commission and CA$0.01 a share as a platform fee, CA$0.0149 a share combined, with a minimum of CA$1.49 an order. On US stocks priced at US$1 or more it charges US$0.0049 a share (minimum US$0.99) plus a US$0.005 platform fee (minimum US$1.00), so US$1.99 is the least you pay; the SEC fee applies on sales. There is no fixed maximum per order in the figures we checked.
| Order | Trade value | Wealthsimple | moomoo | moomoo as % of trade |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20 Canadian ETF units at $25 | $500 | $0 | CA$1.49 (minimum) | 0.298% |
| 100 Canadian shares at $20 | $2,000 | $0 | CA$1.49 (minimum) | 0.0745% |
| 500 Canadian shares at $10 | $5,000 | $0 | CA$7.45 | 0.149% |
| 1,000 Canadian shares at $5 | $5,000 | $0 | CA$14.90 | 0.298% |
| 10 US shares at US$100 | US$1,000 | $0 | US$1.99 (minimum) | 0.199% |
| 300 US shares at US$20 | US$6,000 | $0 | US$2.97 | 0.0495% |
| 1,000 US shares at US$10 | US$10,000 | $0 | US$9.90 | 0.099% |
What the table shows. moomoo is cheapest relative to the trade on large orders of higher-priced shares and dearest on small orders and on low-priced shares bought in volume. Below 100 Canadian shares (100 x CA$0.0149 = CA$1.49) you always pay the CA$1.49 minimum. At Wealthsimple every order above is $0.
Options and other fees. Wealthsimple charges $0 a contract on equity and ETF options and US$45 for an early exercise or a do-not-exercise instruction. moomoo charges US$0.65 a contract with a US$1 minimum an order, has waived its options platform fee until further notice and charges nothing on exercise or assignment. moomoo’s Canadian options pricing is not listed, and Wealthsimple’s is not published. moomoo also charges CA$50 for each RRSP withdrawal. See our best options trading platforms for the full ranking.
3. US Investing and US Dollars
US commissions. Wealthsimple charges $0 on US-listed stocks and ETFs, with pass-through exchange, ECN, TAF or ORF fees on some orders. moomoo charges US$0.0049 a share in commission (minimum US$0.99) plus a US$0.005 platform fee (minimum US$1.00), so every US order costs at least US$1.99, and the SEC fee applies on sales. In our US investing test, a $0 US commission earns 2 points and a commission of $2 or less earns 1.5.
Wealthsimple: a USD account with a monthly fee on Core. A USD account costs $10 plus tax a month on Core after a 30-day trial, with no pro-rated refund if you cancel, and is included for Premium and Generation. Wealthsimple’s help centre says a USD account can be added to a TFSA, FHSA, RRSP, spousal RRSP, LIRA, RESP or non-registered account, but not to a RRIF, spousal RRIF or LIF.
| Test | Points available | Wealthsimple | moomoo |
|---|---|---|---|
| US dollars in registered accounts | 3 | 1.5 (USD account; $10 a month on Core) | 3 (TFSA and RRSP; no fee stated) |
| US commission | 2 | 2 ($0) | 1.5 (US$1.99 minimum) |
| US investing score | 5 | 3.5 | 4.5 |
Holding US dollars in a TFSA or RRSP. moomoo says TFSA and RRSP holders can hold both Canadian and US dollars, with no fee stated, which earns it the full 3 points. Wealthsimple earns 1.5 because its USD account costs $10 plus tax a month on Core; it is included on Premium and Generation. moomoo states this for the TFSA and RRSP only, and it does not offer or list an FHSA, RESP, RRIF or LIRA, while Wealthsimple’s USD account also works in an FHSA, spousal RRSP, LIRA or RESP. Our Wealthsimple USD accounts review covers the details.
Withholding tax. The broker does not change US tax on dividends. US-listed securities held directly in an RRSP are exempt from US dividend withholding under the Canada-US tax treaty once the account is documented; in a TFSA, 15% is withheld with a W-8BEN on file (30% without one) and cannot be recovered. Our guide to US stocks in a TFSA explains the trade-off, and our best TFSA for US stocks list, where Wealthsimple ranks fourth and moomoo fifth, both at 4.0 / 5, compares every broker for this use.
4. Account Types: The Biggest Gap
moomoo’s five accounts. moomoo Canada offers cash, margin, TFSA, RRSP and spousal RRSP accounts. Its own article says the FHSA, RESP, joint and corporate accounts are not available, and the RRIF, LIRA and LIF do not appear on its account list. On our account-types factor, which gives half a point for each of 10 types, moomoo scores 2.0.
Wealthsimple’s full set. Wealthsimple offers the TFSA, RRSP, spousal RRSP, FHSA, RESP, RRIF, LIRA, LIF, non-registered, joint and corporate accounts, plus margin and a separate crypto account. It scores the full 5.0.
| Account | Wealthsimple | moomoo | What it is for |
|---|---|---|---|
| TFSA | Yes | Yes | Tax-free growth; $7,000 of new room in 2026 |
| RRSP and spousal RRSP | Yes | Yes | Tax-deferred retirement saving; 2026 limit $33,810 |
| FHSA | Yes | Not available | First home: $8,000 a year, $40,000 lifetime |
| RESP | Yes | Not available | Education saving with government grants |
| RRIF | Yes | Not listed | Retirement income after an RRSP matures |
| LIRA and LIF | Yes | Not listed | Locked-in pension money from a former employer |
| Joint non-registered | Yes | Not available | Couples investing together |
| Corporate | Yes, up to 8 investing accounts per corporation | Not available | Investing surplus cash inside a company |
| Margin | Up to 2 personal and 1 joint (beta) | Yes | Borrowing against investments |
Why it matters over time. By December 31 of the year you turn 71, an RRSP must be withdrawn, transferred to a RRIF or used to buy an annuity. At moomoo there is no RRIF on the list, so a retiree would need to move the account to another broker. The same goes for a first-time buyer who opens a TFSA at moomoo but would get a deduction from an FHSA, or for parents who want RESP grants. Spreading accounts across brokers is possible, but it costs time and, at moomoo, a transfer-out fee.
Rankings by account. Among brokers offering a TFSA or RRSP, Wealthsimple ranks fourth and moomoo eighth by overall score; see our best TFSA accounts. moomoo does not appear in our best FHSA accounts or best RESP providers lists, where Wealthsimple ranks fourth and third. Our guides to the FHSA and RESP explain each account’s rules.
Need an FHSA, RESP or RRIF? See every broker that offers one, ranked by score.
5. Managed Portfolios
Only Wealthsimple has one in our data. Our register does not cover a moomoo managed portfolio service. moomoo offers an auto-invest feature for regular purchases, but you still pick what to buy. Wealthsimple runs Managed Investing, which ranks first of the four robo-advisors in our best robo-advisors in Canada ranking at 4.2 / 5, and a lower-cost Automated Investing service.
What Wealthsimple charges. Managed Investing costs 0.5% a year on Core, 0.4% on Premium (from $100,000 in total Wealthsimple assets) and 0.4% on Generation, falling to 0.2% at $10,000,000, plus fund costs. Classic portfolios have fund costs between 0.12% and 0.15%; the socially responsible portfolio listed in its help centre between 0.21% and 0.23%. Automated Investing costs 0.25%, capped at $250 an account once the balance reaches $100,000.
| Option | Fee rate | Yearly fee |
|---|---|---|
| Managed Investing, Core | 0.5% plus fund costs up to 0.15% | $125.00 plus up to $37.50 |
| Automated Investing | 0.25% | $62.50 |
| Self-directed with recurring buys | $0 commissions | $0.00 plus your ETFs’ own fund costs |
What the fee pays for. Managed portfolios hold 8 to 10 ETFs, rebalance automatically when you deposit, withdraw or change goals, and reinvest dividends into the ETF that is most underweight. Income portfolios and a Summit range with a private markets sleeve are also offered. Tax-loss harvesting starts at Premium, and managed accounts can be a TFSA, RRSP, spousal RRSP, FHSA, RRIF, RESP, LIRA, corporate or non-registered account.
The do-it-yourself route at moomoo. If you would rather build an ETF portfolio yourself, moomoo’s per-share pricing means each purchase costs at least CA$1.49, and without fractional shares or DRIP you rebalance and reinvest in whole units by hand. Our Wealthsimple Managed Investing review covers every portfolio.
6. Fractional Shares, DRIP and Platforms
Fractional shares change how far small deposits go. Wealthsimple buys fractional shares from $1 on thousands of Canadian and US stocks and ETFs, in real time during market hours, at $0 commission. moomoo states it does not support fractional shares, so every order is for whole shares, and every order pays at least CA$1.49 or US$1.99.
A year of $100 deposits. This example is hypothetical. An investor adds $100 a month and buys a Canadian-listed ETF that stays at $40 a unit all year. At Wealthsimple each $100 buys 2.5 units at $0, so after 12 months they own 30 units ($1,200 ÷ $40). At moomoo they can buy only whole units after the CA$1.49 minimum, alternating between 2 and 3 units a month. After 12 months they own 29 units ($1,160 invested), have paid $17.88 in commissions (12 x $1.49) and hold $22.12 in uninvested cash ($1,200 – $1,160 – $17.88).
| Result after 12 months | Wealthsimple | moomoo |
|---|---|---|
| Units owned | 30 | 29 |
| Amount invested | $1,200.00 | $1,160.00 |
| Commissions paid | $0.00 | $17.88 |
| Cash left uninvested | $0.00 | $22.12 |
DRIP keeps dividends working. Wealthsimple lets you switch on dividend reinvestment, so a $12 dividend on a $40 ETF buys 0.3 of a unit straight away. moomoo says DRIP is not available, so the $12 stays in cash; buying with it later costs at least CA$1.49, or 12.4% of the dividend ($1.49 ÷ $12). In our best brokers for dividend investing list, which includes only brokers that offer DRIP, Wealthsimple ranks third at 4.2 / 5 and moomoo is not listed.
Apps and tools. moomoo runs a single moomoo app on mobile and desktop. Wealthsimple runs a mobile app and a web app, with recurring buys daily, weekly, every two weeks or monthly, and 24-hour trading five days a week in US-listed stocks and ETFs. On our platform factor (a point each for fractional shares, DRIP, options, an advanced platform and a mobile app), Wealthsimple scores 4 and moomoo 3: moomoo earns the advanced-platform point that Wealthsimple does not, but has neither fractional shares nor DRIP. On our beginner test, Wealthsimple scores 5.0 and moomoo 2.5.
Rankings. Wealthsimple is first and moomoo seventh in our best investing apps list, and first and ninth in our best brokers for beginners ranking.
7. Cash and Margin Rates
moomoo’s margin starts lower. moomoo quotes CAD margin from 3.85% and USD margin from 6.4%, as of November 3, 2025; “from” means some balances may pay more, and the date is almost a year old, so please confirm the rate before you borrow. Wealthsimple charges 4.95% CAD and 7.5% USD on Core, 4.45% and 7% on Premium, and 3.95% and 6.5% on Generation, based on prime of 4.45% (CAD) and 7% (USD) as of September 18, 2026. In our lowest margin rates ranking, moomoo is second and Wealthsimple third of 10.
| Loan | Wealthsimple Core | Wealthsimple Premium | Wealthsimple Generation | moomoo, at its “from” rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $20,000 CAD | $990.00 (4.95%) | $890.00 (4.45%) | $790.00 (3.95%) | $770.00 (3.85%) |
| US$10,000 | US$750.00 (7.5%) | US$700.00 (7%) | US$650.00 (6.5%) | US$640.00 (6.4%) |
Reading the gap. A Core client borrowing $20,000 for a year would pay ($20,000 x 4.95% = $990.00) at Wealthsimple against ($20,000 x 3.85% = $770.00) at moomoo if the “from” rate applies, a difference of $220.00. At Generation the gap shrinks to $20.00 ($790.00 against $770.00).
Cash interest. moomoo runs a Cash Sweep program; its welcome promotion cites 6% APY for 30 days after activation, but the standard rate is not published. Wealthsimple does not publish a rate for cash inside trading accounts, but its separate Savings account pays 2.5% to all clients and chequing pays 1.25%, 1.75% or 2.25% by tier. Neither earns points for trading-account cash in our rubric, so the cash and margin sub-scores (moomoo 2.5, Wealthsimple 2.0) reflect margin alone.
Margin rules at Wealthsimple. You can hold up to two personal margin accounts and one joint (in beta), and a TFSA can be linked to a margin account for buying power. Some clients get a restricted margin account with a $1,000 borrowing limit. Its portfolio line of credit charges the same tiered rates and lends up to 35% of eligible collateral.
8. Safety: CIRO and CIPF
Same safety score. Wealthsimple Investments Inc. is an investment dealer and a CIRO dealer member, and it is on CIPF’s member list. Moomoo Financial Canada Inc. states that it is regulated by CIRO and is on CIPF’s current member list. Both score 4.0 on our safety factor, which gives 4 when CIRO and CIPF membership are both stated.
CIPF by account. CIPF protects cash and securities held at a member firm that becomes insolvent, up to $1,000,000 per client in each category. It does not cover market losses, unsuitable advice, an issuer’s insolvency or crypto assets.
| CIPF category ($1,000,000 each) | Wealthsimple accounts | moomoo accounts |
|---|---|---|
| General accounts | Cash, margin, TFSA, FHSA | Cash, margin, TFSA |
| Registered retirement accounts | RRSP, spousal RRSP, RRIF, LIF | RRSP, spousal RRSP |
| RESP accounts | RESP | Not offered |
Wealthsimple’s other products. Crypto at Wealthsimple is not covered by CIPF or CDIC, though cash in the crypto account is. Wealthsimple Chequing is covered by CDIC through trust deposits at partner banks, up to $1,000,000 combined. Clients who use a passkey to sign in are reimbursed for all direct losses from unauthorized account activity. Read is Wealthsimple safe for each entity, and our moomoo Canada review for moomoo’s.
Run your own trades through the calculator, or compare moomoo with every broker we rank.
9. Wealthsimple vs moomoo: Costs for Four Investor Profiles
How we calculated this. This example is hypothetical. It adds up published commissions, account fees and options prices as of October 22, 2026, and leaves out pass-through and regulatory fees and sales tax on Wealthsimple’s USD account fee.
| Profile | What they do in a year | Wealthsimple | moomoo | Cheaper |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Monthly ETF buyer in a TFSA | 12 buys of $500 of a Canadian-listed ETF (20 units at $25) | $0.00 | $17.88 | Wealthsimple by $17.88 |
| 2. Active US trader in an RRSP | 120 US stock trades of 100 shares at about US$50; keeps US dollars in the account | $120.00 (Core USD account) | $238.80 | Wealthsimple by $118.80 |
| 2b. Same trader on Wealthsimple Premium | $100,000 or more in Wealthsimple assets | $0.00 | $238.80 | Wealthsimple by $238.80 |
| 3. Options trader | 48 US equity option trades of 2 contracts | $0.00 | $62.40 | Wealthsimple by $62.40 |
| 4. $250,000 investor in an RRSP | 12 Canadian ETF buys of $2,000 (80 units at $25) and 12 US stock buys of US$2,000 (40 shares at US$50) | $0.00 (Premium) | $41.76 | Wealthsimple by $41.76 |
Profile 1: the monthly ETF buyer. Each 20-unit buy at moomoo is 20 x CA$0.0149 = CA$0.30, raised to the CA$1.49 minimum, so 12 buys cost (12 x $1.49 = $17.88). At Wealthsimple the same buys cost $0.00, and with fractional shares the full $500 goes in each month.
Profile 2: the active US trader. Each 100-share US trade at moomoo is US$0.49 commission (raised to the US$0.99 minimum) plus a US$0.50 platform fee (raised to US$1.00), or US$1.99: (120 x US$1.99 = US$238.80). moomoo’s RRSP holds US dollars with no fee stated. At Wealthsimple Core the trades are $0 and the USD account costs ($10 x 12 = $120.00), so Wealthsimple is cheaper by $118.80 ($238.80 – $120.00). On Premium the USD account is included, and Wealthsimple’s cost is $0.00.
Profile 3: the options trader. At moomoo two contracts cost (2 x US$0.65 = US$1.30) a trade, above the US$1 minimum, so 48 trades cost (48 x US$1.30 = US$62.40). Wealthsimple charges $0 a contract on equity and ETF options. moomoo charges nothing on exercise or assignment, while Wealthsimple charges US$45 for an early exercise. One early exercise a year narrows the gap to US$17.40 (US$62.40 – US$45.00), and two would make Wealthsimple the dearer of the two for this trader (US$90.00 against US$62.40).
Profile 4: the $250,000 investor. At Wealthsimple this investor is Premium: all 24 buys are $0 and the USD account is included, so the year costs $0.00. At moomoo, 80 units x CA$0.0149 = CA$1.19, raised to CA$1.49, and 40 US shares x US$0.0099 = US$0.40, raised to US$1.99, so the year costs (12 x $1.49 + 12 x US$1.99 = $17.88 + $23.88 = $41.76). A $250,000 investor may also need an FHSA, RESP, RRIF or LIRA at some point, none of which moomoo offers or lists.
10. Who Should Choose Wealthsimple
Anyone who needs more than a TFSA and RRSP. First-time buyers with an FHSA, parents with an RESP, retirees with a RRIF or LIF, people with a LIRA from an old pension, couples who want a joint account and incorporated business owners all need Wealthsimple or another full-service broker, not moomoo.
Small and regular investors. Fractional shares from $1, recurring buys and DRIP put every dollar to work at $0 commission. That is why Wealthsimple ranks first of 13 for beginners and moomoo ninth.
Options traders who keep it simple. $0 a contract on equity and ETF options beats moomoo’s US$0.65, and Wealthsimple ranks second of 13 for options against moomoo’s fifth.
People who want investing, banking and advice together. Chequing, a 2.5% savings account, managed portfolios, crypto and tax software sit in the same app. Our Wealthsimple Trade review, Wealthsimple fees guide and Core vs Premium vs Generation comparison cover each part. If you will hold $100,000 or more, Premium includes the USD account and cuts margin to 4.45%.
11. Who Should Choose moomoo
Active traders who want US dollars in a TFSA or RRSP. moomoo says both accounts hold Canadian and US dollars with no fee stated, against $10 plus tax a month for a Wealthsimple USD account on Core. That suits US investing in those two accounts, though each US order pays at least US$1.99.
Margin borrowers on Wealthsimple’s Core tier. moomoo’s CAD margin from 3.85% is below Core’s 4.95%, though Wealthsimple Generation’s 3.95% comes within 0.10 percentage points.
Options traders who exercise. moomoo charges nothing on exercise or assignment and has waived its options platform fee until further notice, at US$0.65 a contract.
Investors whose needs stop at a TFSA, RRSP or margin account. If you buy whole shares in larger orders, moomoo’s per-share pricing stays a small share of each trade: 300 US shares at US$20 cost US$2.97, or about 0.05%. Our moomoo Canada review covers its platform and terms.
12. Using Both, and Switching Between Them
A practical split. Wealthsimple vs moomoo can be both: some investors keep their FHSA, RESP and long-term ETF buying at Wealthsimple, where fractional shares and DRIP do the work, and use a moomoo margin or TFSA account for active US trading. Assets at moomoo do not count toward Wealthsimple’s tiers, so splitting can keep you on Core.
| Direction | Fee to leave | Fee covered by the new broker | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|
| moomoo to Wealthsimple | $75 full or $50 partial, per currency, plus sales tax; a full transfer holding both currencies costs $75 plus US$75, plus tax | Up to $150 per account on $25,000 or more, if the account stays funded 90 days | Costs above the $150 cap, including sales tax, are not covered |
| Wealthsimple to moomoo | $0 | No charge listed for incoming transfers; any reimbursement is described only in a promotion article | Fractional shares cannot be transferred and are sold first; moomoo does not offer or list an FHSA, RESP, RRIF, LIRA or LIF to receive them |
Wealthsimple’s 1% match. New Wealthsimple clients who transfer $25,000 or more within 30 days of registering get 1% of net qualifying transfers, up to $20,000 on the first $2,000,000, paid in 24 monthly instalments with a 730-day hold. It has no fixed end date.
Use a direct transfer. Ask the receiving broker to pull the account. Withdrawing from an RRSP yourself is taxable, with 10%, 20% or 30% withheld outside Quebec, and moomoo charges CA$50 for each RRSP withdrawal. Withdrawing and redepositing in a TFSA uses new room until the withdrawal is added back on January 1 of the next year. Our guide on how to transfer an investment account covers every step, and our editorial standards explain how we treat figures a broker does not publish, such as moomoo’s standard Cash Sweep rate. For other pairings see Wealthsimple vs Questrade, Wealthsimple vs Interactive Brokers and our broker comparison hub.
Moomoo or Wealthsimple: FAQ
Is Wealthsimple or moomoo better?
Wealthsimple scores higher: 4.2 / 5 and fourth of 13 in our ranking, against 3.7 / 5 and eighth for moomoo, as of October 23, 2026. Wealthsimple offers far more account types, fractional shares, DRIP and $0 commissions. moomoo suits active traders who want US dollars in a TFSA or RRSP with no fee stated and margin from 3.85%.
Does moomoo offer an FHSA or RESP?
No. moomoo Canada states that the FHSA, RESP, joint and corporate accounts are not available, and its account list does not include the RRIF, LIRA or LIF. It offers cash, margin, TFSA, RRSP and spousal RRSP accounts. Wealthsimple offers all of those plus the FHSA, RESP, RRIF, LIRA, LIF, joint and corporate accounts.
Does moomoo have fractional shares?
No. moomoo states that it does not support fractional shares, so every order is for whole shares and pays at least CA$1.49 or US$1.99. Wealthsimple offers fractional shares from $1 on thousands of Canadian and US stocks and ETFs at $0 commission, which lets a small deposit be invested in full.
Does moomoo offer DRIP?
No. moomoo states that DRIP is not available, though it offers auto-invest for regular purchases. Dividends stay in cash until you buy with them, at the usual commission. Wealthsimple lets you switch dividend reinvestment on, so dividends buy more units, including fractions, automatically.
Is moomoo cheaper than Wealthsimple?
Usually not. Wealthsimple charges $0 a trade; moomoo charges at least CA$1.49 or US$1.99 an order. On our scoring profiles, moomoo costs $59.64 a year for an active trader and $17.88 for a buy-and-hold investor, against $0.00 at Wealthsimple. A Wealthsimple Core client who adds a USD account pays $10 plus tax a month for it, a fee moomoo does not state for its TFSA or RRSP.
Does moomoo charge a platform fee?
Yes, on stock trades. On Canadian stocks and ETFs moomoo adds a CA$0.01 a share platform fee to its CA$0.0049 commission, with a CA$1.49 minimum an order. On US stocks it adds US$0.005 a share (minimum US$1.00) to a US$0.0049 commission (minimum US$0.99). Its options platform fee is waived until further notice. Wealthsimple charges $0 commission and no platform fee on listed stocks and ETFs.
Can I hold US dollars in a moomoo TFSA?
Yes. moomoo says TFSA and RRSP holders can hold both Canadian and US dollars, with no fee stated. At Wealthsimple, a USD account can be added to a TFSA, FHSA, RRSP, spousal RRSP, LIRA, RESP or non-registered account, but not to a RRIF, spousal RRIF or LIF; it costs $10 plus tax a month on Core and is included for Premium and Generation.
Which has lower margin rates, moomoo or Wealthsimple?
moomoo’s quoted rates start lower: CAD from 3.85% and USD from 6.4%, as of November 3, 2025. Wealthsimple charges 4.95% CAD on Core, 4.45% on Premium and 3.95% on Generation. On $20,000 for a year, that is $770 at moomoo’s “from” rate against $990 at Wealthsimple Core.
Which is better for options trading?
Wealthsimple ranks higher, at 4.3 / 5 and second of 13, against 3.7 / 5 and fifth for moomoo. Wealthsimple charges $0 a contract on equity and ETF options; moomoo charges US$0.65 with a US$1 minimum. moomoo charges nothing on exercise or assignment, while Wealthsimple charges US$45 for an early exercise.
Is moomoo safe in Canada?
Moomoo Financial Canada Inc. states that it is regulated by CIRO and is on CIPF’s member list, so eligible cash and securities are protected up to $1,000,000 per category if the firm fails. Wealthsimple Investments Inc. has the same protection. Both score 4.0 on our safety factor. CIPF does not cover market losses.
How much does it cost to transfer out of moomoo?
moomoo charges $75 for a full transfer or $50 for a partial transfer, per currency, plus sales tax, so a full transfer of an account holding both currencies costs $75 plus US$75, plus tax. Wealthsimple covers the other firm’s transfer fee up to $150 per account on transfers of $25,000 or more that stay funded for 90 days.
Which is better for beginners, Wealthsimple or moomoo?
Wealthsimple. It ranks first of 13 in our beginners ranking at 4.7 / 5; moomoo ranks ninth at 3.5 / 5. Wealthsimple offers fractional shares from $1, automatic recurring buys, DRIP, no account minimum and $0 commissions. moomoo has no minimum deposit, but no fractional shares or DRIP, and charges per share.
Still comparing? See Wealthsimple against Questrade, or every broker ranked for beginners.
Figures on this page were checked against each provider’s published pricing on October 22, 2026. We update this page when a figure changes.
Meet the Experts Behind WealthScale

Sharad is a CPA Ontario member (No. 61040184) and a Certified Public Accountant licensed in Washington and Montana, with more than 15 years in accounting and tax, a Diploma in Banking and Finance and a Certificate in Small Business Finance. He checks WealthScale content against primary sources. WealthScale is independent of his firm, Gondaliya CPA Professional Corporation, and provides general information only, not personal financial, investment, tax or legal advice.
- Chartered Professional Accountant, CPA Ontario
- Certified Public Accountant, Washington (No. 57629) and Montana (No. PAC-CPAP-LIC-033176)
- Writing on tax and registered accounts since 2021
- Reader’s Choice Award 2025 Winner, Best Accountant (Toronto)

Neha Gupta is a CFA charterholder based in Winnipeg who has worked in financial markets since December 2005. She has published more than 2,600 investment articles and is Head of Operations and Finance at Whiteland Real Estate. She reviews WealthScale’s investing pages for accuracy.
- CFA charter, CFA Institute (awarded 2023)
- Post Graduate Diploma in Business Administration (Finance), 2008
- In financial markets since December 2005
- More than 2,600 published investment articles
General information only. Not financial, investment, tax or legal advice. WealthScale is independent and is published by WealthScale Media Inc., 55 Queen St E, Suite 1205, Toronto, ON M5C 1R6. CFA® and Chartered Financial Analyst® are registered trademarks owned by CFA Institute.