Banking · $0 monthly fee accounts ranked

Best No-Fee Chequing Accounts in Canada for 2026

The best no fee chequing account in Canada for 2026 is the EQ Bank Personal Account, which scores 4.6 / 5 on our published rubric, charges $0 a month with no minimum balance, and pays 2.75% when your pay is direct deposited (1.00% without). We ranked the eight accounts with no monthly fee: EQ Bank, Wealthsimple, Manulife Bank, KOHO Essential, Simplii, Tangerine, PC Money and Neo. “No fee” covers the monthly charge only, so this page also lists every charge that can still apply, from $1.50 out-of-network ATM withdrawals to the new Neo fees that start on January 1, 2027.

Written by a CPASharad Gondaliya, CPA Ontario No. 61040184
CFA charterholder reviewerNeha Gupta, CFA reviews our investing and account pages; each page shows its review status
Figures checkedOctober 22, 2026
Only $0-fee accountsRanked by a published score, every remaining charge listed

At a glance

Number one. EQ Bank Personal Account, 4.6 / 5. No monthly fee, no minimum balance, unlimited transactions and e-Transfers, ATM fees reimbursed anywhere in Canada, and 2.75% interest with pay direct deposit (rates effective May 15, 2026). The catch: no cheque writing.

Number two. Wealthsimple Chequing, 4.4 / 5. No monthly fee, 1.25% on the Core tier and 1.75% with a $2,000+ direct deposit in 30 days, a prepaid Visa with no card fee, and ATM operator fees reimbursed worldwide. Cash is held in trust at CDIC member institutions, up to $1,000,000 combined.

Number three. Manulife Bank Advantage Account, 4.0 / 5. No monthly fee, 1.50% interest, and personal cheques with no charge to write. The catch: $1.00 per transaction and $1.50 per ATM withdrawal in Canada whenever the balance is below $1,000.

A conditional $0. KOHO Essential (4.0 / 5) is in this list because its $7 monthly fee drops to $0 with direct deposit or $1,000 a month in deposits. It pays 2% on the whole balance after you opt in to interest, with no balance tier or asset threshold.

What still costs money. Out-of-network ATM withdrawals ($1.50 in Canada at Tangerine and PC Money), cancelling an e-Transfer ($3.50 at PC Money), non-sufficient funds ($10 at PC Money), overdraft interest (19% at Simplii and PC Money), and, from January 1, 2027, Neo’s $1 e-Transfer and $1.50 withdrawal fees for clients without a membership.

How ranked and when. Scores use five weighted factors: fees 35%, interest 20%, transactions 15%, ATM access 15%, and protection and features 15%. Every figure was checked on October 22, 2026.

8Chequing accounts in Canada with a $0 monthly fee that we rank
2.75%Top rate on a no-fee account: EQ Bank with pay direct deposit
$1,000Balance Manulife Bank needs to waive its per-transaction fees
Jan 1, 2027Date Neo starts charging e-Transfer, ATM and NSF fees to clients without a membership

No Fee Chequing Account Rankings at a Glance

These are the eight accounts with a $0 monthly fee, in score order. Scores come from the same rubric we use for all 20 chequing accounts in our best chequing accounts ranking, so a 4.0 here means the same as a 4.0 there. The last column names the one condition or charge most likely to cost you.

No-fee chequing accounts in Canada ranked by WealthScale score, October 22, 2026
RankAccountScoreBest forInterestMain catch
1EQ Bank Personal Account4.6 / 5Earning interest on your pay1.00%; 2.75% with pay direct depositNo cheque writing
2Wealthsimple Chequing4.4 / 5ATM fees reimbursed worldwideCore 1.25%; 1.75% with direct depositLower rate without $2,000 in direct deposits
3Manulife Bank Advantage Account4.0 / 5Writing cheques while earning interest1.50%$1.00 per transaction below $1,000
4KOHO Essential4.0 / 5A 2% rate with no balance rule2% after opting in$7 a month without a qualifying deposit
5Simplii No Fee Chequing Account3.9 / 5A $350 cash welcome offerNot publishedNo published rate
6Tangerine No-Fee Daily Chequing Account3.9 / 5Wide no-fee ATM accessNot published$1.50 at other ABMs in Canada
7PC Money Account3.8 / 5People near PC Financial ATMsNot published$1.50 at other ATMs; $3.50 to cancel an e-Transfer
8Neo Chequing3.3 / 5A $100 spending bonus0.1%New fees from January 1, 2027 without a membership

The calculator below adds up a year of fees and interest at each account from your own balance, transaction count, ATM use and direct-deposit status, so you can see which $0 account actually costs you least.

Master Comparison Table: 8 No-Fee Chequing Accounts

Search or sort the table to compare the eight accounts on every feature that can cost or earn you money. All figures are from each provider’s published pricing on October 22, 2026; “not published” means the figure was not shown where we checked.

No-fee chequing accounts compared feature by feature
RankAccountScoreMonthly feeCondition for $0InterestTransactionse-Transfer chargesNo-fee ATMsOther ATMs in CanadaChequesNSF and overdraftDeposit protectionWelcome offer
1EQ Bank Personal Account4.6$0None1.00%; 2.75% with pay direct depositUnlimitedNone; unlimitedAny ATM in Canada (fees reimbursed)ReimbursedMobile deposit onlyNot publishedCDIC member (Equitable Bank)None stated
2Wealthsimple Chequing4.4$0NoneCore 1.25%; Premium 1.75%; Generation 2.25%; plus 0.50% for Core and Premium with $2,000+ direct deposit in 30 daysNo limit statedNone; up to $50,000 a day for eligible clientsAny ATM (operator fees reimbursed worldwide)ReimbursedMobile deposit; chequebook with payroll direct depositOverdraft: no fee, interest from 3.95%Trust deposits at CDIC members, up to $1,000,000 combinedNo chequing offer with published terms
3Manulife Bank Advantage Account4.0$0Keep $1,000 to avoid transaction fees1.50%Unlimited at $1,000; $1.00 per debit purchase or bill payment below$1.00 to send below $1,000THE EXCHANGE Network at $1,000$1.50 below $1,000Personal and official cheques; no charge to writeNot publishedCDIC memberNo current offer with published terms
4KOHO Essential4.0$7Direct deposit or $1,000 a month in deposits2% after opting inNo limit statedNone; $5,000 a day outboundNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot a member; up to $100,000 eligible through trust when opted inNo cash bonus; 30-day trial of paid plans; end date not stated
5Simplii No Fee Chequing Account3.9$0NoneNot publishedUnlimited debit purchases, bill payments and withdrawalsNone to send, request or receive3,400+ CIBC ATMsNot publishedNot publishedOverdraft service $4.97 in a month used, plus 19%CDIC through CIBC$350; ends January 31, 2027
6Tangerine No-Fee Daily Chequing Account3.9$0NoneNot publishedUnlimited debit purchases, bill payments and pre-authorized paymentsNone; unlimited3,500+ Scotiabank and 44,000 Global ATM Alliance ABMs$1.50 ($3 worldwide)First 50 at no charge; extra books $50Not publishedCDIC member (Tangerine Bank)$250; ends April 30, 2027
7PC Money Account3.8$0NoneNot publishedUnlimited everyday transactions$3.50 to cancel a sent transferPC Financial ATMs$1.50 ($3.00 international)Not publishedNSF $10 per presentment; overdraft protection 19%CDIC member (President’s Choice Bank)Not published
8Neo Chequing3.3$0None; optional memberships0.1%No limit stated$1 per send from January 1, 2027 without a membershipAny ATM in Canada until January 1, 2027$1.50 from January 1, 2027 without a membershipMobile deposit not yet availableNSF $4.99 from January 1, 2027 without a membershipNot a member; eligible up to $100,000 through a member institution$100 after $1,000 spent in 3 months; end date not stated

The 8 Best No-Fee Chequing Accounts Ranked

Each card sets out what is genuinely $0, what can still cost you, and who the account suits. EQ Bank and Wealthsimple have full WealthScale reviews, linked from their cards; the other six do not yet.

1. EQ Bank Personal Account: best for earning interest on your pay

4.6/ 5

Why it ranks here. It pairs the highest rate on a no-fee account (2.75% with pay direct deposit) with fee reimbursement at every ATM in Canada. Sub-scores: fees 5.0, interest 3.81, transactions 5.0, ATM access 5.0, protection 4.0.

What is $0. The monthly fee, the minimum balance, every transaction, every Interac e-Transfer, and ATM fees in Canada when you use the EQ Bank Card (EQ reimburses them).

What can still cost you. Mostly what you miss rather than what you pay. Without your pay direct deposited, the rate is 1.00% instead of 2.75%: on $3,000 that is $30.00 a year instead of $82.50. EQ’s published ATM reimbursement covers machines in Canada; it says nothing about ATMs abroad. You cannot write cheques, so a landlord who wants post-dated cheques needs another account.

Good to know. Equitable Bank, which trades as EQ Bank, is a CDIC member. Rates are effective May 15, 2026. EQ also runs a US Dollar Account at 2.50%. No welcome offer was stated.

Pros

  • 2.75% with pay direct deposit
  • Every ATM in Canada reimbursed
  • Unlimited transactions and e-Transfers at $0

Cons

  • No cheque writing
  • Base rate of 1.00%
  • No branches

Read our EQ Bank review

2. Wealthsimple Chequing: best for ATM fees reimbursed worldwide

4.4/ 5

Why it ranks here. Full marks on fees and ATM access, and a solid rate that rises with your Wealthsimple tier. Sub-scores: fees 5.0, interest 3.25, transactions 5.0, ATM access 5.0, protection 3.5.

What is $0. The monthly fee, the minimum balance, sending e-Transfers, Wealthsimple’s own ATM fee, the prepaid Visa card, incoming wires, and the overdraft fee. Eligible ATM operator fees are reimbursed worldwide.

What can still cost you. An outgoing domestic wire costs $15 unless you are a Generation client. Overdraft has no fee but charges interest from 3.95%. The card does not work at Costco Canada warehouses, which take Mastercard only. The direct-deposit boost needs $2,000 or more within a 30-day period.

Good to know. Rates by Wealthsimple tier: Core 1.25% (1.75% with direct deposit), Premium 1.75% (2.25% with direct deposit), Generation 2.25%. Wealthsimple is not a CDIC member; chequing cash is held in trust at member institutions for up to $1,000,000 combined.

Pros

  • Up to 2.25% on higher tiers
  • ATM operator fees reimbursed worldwide
  • Up to $1,000,000 in combined CDIC coverage through trust deposits

Cons

  • $15 outgoing domestic wire
  • Not a CDIC member itself
  • Card not accepted at Costco Canada

Read our Wealthsimple Chequing review

3. Manulife Bank Advantage Account: best for writing cheques while earning interest

4.0/ 5

Why it ranks here. A full protection score (CDIC member with cheques) and a 1.50% rate, held back by its $1,000 balance rule. Sub-scores: fees 4.5, interest 3.25, transactions 4.5, ATM access 2.5, protection 5.0.

What is $0. The monthly fee, deposits, writing personal and official cheques, and, as long as you keep $1,000, every everyday transaction and THE EXCHANGE ATM withdrawals.

What can still cost you. Below $1,000: $1.00 per Interac Debit purchase, $1.00 per bill payment, $1.00 per e-Transfer sent, $1.50 per ATM withdrawal in Canada and $3.00 outside Canada. A month with 15 purchases, 3 bills, 4 e-Transfers and 2 ATM withdrawals below $1,000 costs $25.00. Machines outside THE EXCHANGE may add their own surcharge.

Pros

  • Cheques with no charge to write
  • 1.50% on the whole balance
  • CDIC member

Cons

  • Transaction fees below $1,000
  • ATM fees below $1,000
  • Operators outside THE EXCHANGE may add a surcharge

4. KOHO Essential: best for a 2% rate with no balance rule

4.0/ 5

Why it ranks here. The highest interest sub-score in the list, held back by unpublished ATM fees and trust-only protection. Sub-scores: fees 4.5, interest 4.0, transactions 5.0, ATM access 2.5, protection 3.0.

What is $0. The Essential plan fee when you set up direct deposit or deposit $1,000 each month, real-time e-Transfers, and the minimum balance.

What can still cost you. Miss the deposit rule and Essential costs $7 a month, or $84 a year. No international ATM withdrawal is free on this plan, and KOHO does not publish that amount or its domestic ATM fee. Outbound e-Transfers are capped at $5,000 a day.

Good to know. KOHO is a prepaid spending account, not a CDIC member. Up to $100,000 is eligible for CDIC protection through trust deposits only after you opt in to earn interest. KOHO’s Non-Member plan has no plan fee and pays 0.5%.

Pros

  • 2% on the whole balance
  • No minimum balance
  • e-Transfers at no charge

Cons

  • $7 a month without a qualifying deposit
  • No free international ATM withdrawals on Essential
  • CDIC eligibility needs opt-in

5. Simplii No Fee Chequing Account: best for a $350 cash welcome offer

3.9/ 5

Why it ranks here. Full marks on fees, transactions and protection, but no interest points because the rate on its page showed only placeholders. Sub-scores: fees 5.0, interest 0, transactions 5.0, ATM access 4.0, protection 5.0.

What is $0. The monthly fee, unlimited debit purchases, bill payments and withdrawals, and sending, requesting or receiving e-Transfers. Withdrawals at 3,400+ CIBC ATMs carry no fee.

What can still cost you. The optional overdraft service costs $4.97 in any month you use it, plus 19% interest. Going $200 into overdraft for 10 days costs $6.01 ($4.97 + $1.04 interest). Simplii does not publish its fee for non-CIBC ATMs on the account page.

Good to know. Simplii is a trade name of CIBC, a CDIC member. New clients get $350 after an eligible direct deposit of $100 or more for 4 straight months; the offer ends January 31, 2027.

Pros

  • $350 welcome offer to January 31, 2027
  • CIBC ATM network
  • Unlimited transactions

Cons

  • No published interest rate
  • Overdraft costs $4.97 plus 19%
  • Non-CIBC ATM fee not shown

6. Tangerine No-Fee Daily Chequing Account: best for wide no-fee ATM access

3.9/ 5

Why it ranks here. Same sub-scores as Simplii: 5.0 on fees, transactions and protection, 4.0 on ATM access, and 0 on interest because every Tangerine rate page showed placeholders when we checked.

What is $0. The monthly fee, unlimited debit purchases, bill payments and pre-authorized payments, unlimited e-Transfers, your first book of 50 cheques, and withdrawals at 3,500+ Scotiabank ABMs and 44,000 Global ATM Alliance ABMs.

What can still cost you. Other ABMs cost $1.50 in Canada and $3 worldwide. Two such withdrawals a month add up to $36.00 a year. Each extra cheque book costs $50.

Good to know. Tangerine Bank is a CDIC member in its own right. New clients whose client number is created between May 1, 2024 and April 30, 2027 can get $250 for moving their payroll deposit; the offer ends April 30, 2027.

Pros

  • Large no-fee ATM network
  • First 50 cheques at no charge
  • CDIC member

Cons

  • No published chequing rate
  • $1.50 at other ABMs in Canada
  • $50 per extra cheque book

7. PC Money Account: best for people near PC Financial ATMs

3.8/ 5

Why it ranks here. No monthly fee and unlimited transactions, but no-fee withdrawals only at PC Financial ATMs and no current published rate. Sub-scores: fees 5.0, interest 0, transactions 5.0, ATM access 3.5, protection 5.0.

What is $0. The monthly fee, unlimited everyday transactions, sending and receiving e-Transfers, and unlimited withdrawals at PC Financial ATMs.

What can still cost you. PC Money publishes a longer list of small charges than most: $1.50 at other Canadian ATMs, $3.00 for international withdrawals on the Mastercard network, $3.50 to cancel a sent e-Transfer, $10 each time an item is presented without sufficient funds, and 19% on optional overdraft protection.

Good to know. The account is provided by President’s Choice Bank, a CDIC member. The only rate we found was a 2024 launch figure, which we do not use, and no welcome offer was published.

Pros

  • Unlimited everyday transactions
  • Unlimited PC Financial ATM withdrawals
  • CDIC member

Cons

  • No current published rate
  • $3.50 to cancel an e-Transfer
  • $10 NSF charge per presentment

8. Neo Chequing: best for a $100 spending bonus

3.3/ 5

Why it ranks here. A $0 account with a 0.1% rate and fees arriving in 2027 for clients without a membership. Sub-scores: fees 5.0, interest 0.25, transactions 4.5, ATM access 2.5, protection 3.0.

What is $0. The account fee, and until December 31, 2026, e-Transfers and ATM withdrawals in Canada. From January 1, 2027, they stay $0 if you hold any Neo membership, and the Essentials membership has no fee.

What can still cost you. From January 1, 2027, without a membership: $1 per e-Transfer sent, $1.50 per cash withdrawal and $4.99 for non-sufficient funds. Four e-Transfers and two withdrawals a month would cost $7.00 a month, or $84.00 a year. Paid memberships cost $9.99 (Build) or $14.99 (Grow) a month since October 1, 2026.

Good to know. Neo is not a CDIC member; chequing funds are eligible for CDIC insurance up to $100,000 through a member institution Neo does not name. Mobile cheque deposit is not yet available. New clients get $100 after spending $1,000 in the first 3 months; end date not stated.

Pros

  • $100 spending bonus
  • 2027 fees are $0 with the no-fee Essentials membership
  • No account fee

Cons

  • 0.1% interest
  • New fees for non-members from January 1, 2027
  • No cheque deposit yet

Want to see these eight against the big banks too? Our full ranking scores all 20 chequing accounts with the same rubric.

1. How We Ranked No-Fee Chequing Accounts

Same rubric, smaller field. We score every chequing account on five factors and weight them the same way each time: fees 35%, interest 20%, transactions 15%, ATM access 15%, and protection and features 15%. This page keeps only the accounts whose monthly fee is $0, and keeps them in the same order they hold in the full ranking. The scoring rules are set out in our rating methodology, and no provider pays for a place; see how WealthScale makes money.

Sub-scores for each no-fee chequing account (out of 5)
AccountFees (35%)Interest (20%)Transactions (15%)ATM (15%)Protection (15%)Weighted totalShown as
EQ Bank Personal Account5.03.815.05.04.04.6124.6
Wealthsimple Chequing5.03.255.05.03.54.4254.4
Manulife Bank Advantage Account4.53.254.52.55.04.0254.0
KOHO Essential4.54.05.02.53.03.9504.0
Simplii No Fee Chequing Account5.005.04.05.03.8503.9
Tangerine No-Fee Daily Chequing Account5.005.04.05.03.8503.9
PC Money Account5.005.03.55.03.7753.8
Neo Chequing5.00.254.52.53.03.3003.3

Why KOHO Essential is here. Its list price is $7 a month, but it costs $0 when you set up direct deposit or deposit $1,000 each month, with no balance rule. Our fee factor scores that at 4.5, the same as Manulife’s “no fee above $1,000” structure, because in both cases a condition stands between you and $0.

Why three accounts score zero on interest. Simplii, Tangerine and PC Money did not display a current chequing rate on their own pages when we checked: Simplii’s and Tangerine’s rate tables showed placeholders, and PC Financial’s pages showed no rate. Our rubric scores an unpublished rate as zero rather than guess. If they publish a rate, they will move up at the next update.

Ties. Manulife (4.025) and KOHO (3.950) both round to 4.0, and Manulife sits higher on the unrounded score. Simplii and Tangerine have identical sub-scores (3.850); Simplii is listed first in our published tie order. Our sourcing and dating rules are in our editorial standards.

2. What “No Monthly Fee” Covers and What It Does Not

The promise is narrow. A no fee chequing account removes the monthly account charge. It does not promise that nothing else costs money. Every account in this list publishes at least one charge, a condition or a coming change that can turn $0 into a cost.

Three kinds of “no fee”. First, no fee with no strings: EQ Bank, Wealthsimple, Simplii, Tangerine and PC Money charge nothing monthly whatever your balance. Second, no fee with a condition: Manulife needs $1,000 in the account to avoid per-transaction charges, and KOHO Essential needs direct deposit or $1,000 a month in deposits. Third, no fee for now: Neo’s account fee is $0, but three new charges start on January 1, 2027 for clients without a membership.

What sits outside the monthly fee. Charges you can still meet include ATM withdrawals outside a bank’s network, the machine owner’s surcharge, cancelling an e-Transfer, non-sufficient-funds charges, overdraft interest, extra cheque books and outgoing wires. Section 3 lists each one by account.

The hidden cost of a 0% rate. A $0 account that pays nothing on your balance still costs you the interest you could have earned. On $3,000, the gap between no published rate and EQ Bank’s 2.75% with direct deposit is $82.50 a year.

Big-bank accounts that are $0 for some people. Several big-bank accounts are $0 only for certain groups, which is why they are not ranked here. National Bank The Minimalist is $0 for ages 0 to 24. Scotiabank’s Basic Bank Account is $0 for seniors and is waived for Indigenous Peoples, RDSP beneficiaries, Disability Tax Credit recipients and social assistance recipients. TD waives its Minimum Chequing Account for certain groups, including GIS recipients and newcomers in their first year. If you qualify, these can give you a branch and cheques at $0.

3. Charges That Can Still Cost You Money

Every remaining charge we found. The table lists every published charge on the eight accounts, beyond the $0 monthly fee. “Not published” means the bank did not state the charge where we checked; it does not mean the charge is zero.

Charges that remain on no-fee chequing accounts, October 22, 2026
AccountATM chargesTransaction or e-Transfer chargesNSF, overdraft and other
EQ BankNone in Canada (reimbursed)NoneNot published
WealthsimpleNone from Wealthsimple; operator fees reimbursedNoneOutgoing domestic wire $15 (waived for Generation); overdraft interest from 3.95%
Manulife Bank$1.50 in Canada, $3.00 outside Canada, below $1,000$1.00 per debit purchase, bill payment or e-Transfer sent, below $1,000Not published
KOHO EssentialDomestic fee not published; no free international withdrawals$7 monthly plan fee without a qualifying depositNot published
SimpliiNon-CIBC fee not publishedNoneOverdraft service $4.97 in a month used, plus 19%
Tangerine$1.50 in Canada; $3 worldwide outside partner networksNoneExtra cheque books $50
PC Money$1.50 at other Canadian ATMs; $3.00 international$3.50 to cancel a sent e-TransferNSF $10 per presentment; overdraft protection 19%
Neo$1.50 per withdrawal from January 1, 2027 without a membership$1 per e-Transfer sent from January 1, 2027 without a membershipNSF $4.99 from January 1, 2027 without a membership

What these charges add up to. Each figure below uses the published charge and a stated pattern of use.

  • Tangerine or PC Money, two out-of-network withdrawals a month: 2 x $1.50 x 12 = $36.00 a year.
  • Manulife, one month below $1,000 with 15 debit purchases, 3 bill payments, 4 e-Transfers and 2 ATM withdrawals in Canada: $15.00 + $3.00 + $4.00 + $3.00 = $25.00 for that month.
  • KOHO Essential without a qualifying deposit: $7 x 12 = $84.00 a year.
  • Neo in 2027 without a membership, 4 e-Transfers and 2 withdrawals a month: ($4.00 + $3.00) x 12 = $84.00 a year, or $0 with the no-fee Essentials membership.
  • Simplii overdraft, $200 for 10 days: $4.97 + ($200 x 19% x 10 / 365 = $1.04) = $6.01.
  • PC Money, one cancelled e-Transfer and one returned payment in a year: $3.50 + $10.00 = $13.50.

The pattern. On these accounts, the charges that remain come from cash, mistakes and minimum balances. If you rarely use cash and keep a small buffer, most of them never apply.

4. Free Chequing Account Canada: Which Ones Pay Interest

Five of eight publish a rate. EQ Bank, Wealthsimple, Manulife, KOHO and Neo publish chequing rates. Simplii, Tangerine and PC Money did not show one when we checked. A free chequing account in Canada, meaning no monthly fee (the charges in section 3 can still apply), can do real work on a pay-day balance when it also pays interest.

Yearly interest at three balances, before tax (simple interest, balance x rate)
Account and conditionRate$1,000$3,000$10,000
EQ Bank, pay direct deposited2.75%$27.50$82.50$275.00
Wealthsimple Premium with direct deposit, or Generation2.25%$22.50$67.50$225.00
KOHO Essential, opted in2%$20.00$60.00$200.00
Wealthsimple Core with direct deposit1.75%$17.50$52.50$175.00
Manulife Bank Advantage Account1.50%$15.00$45.00$150.00
Wealthsimple Core1.25%$12.50$37.50$125.00
EQ Bank, no direct deposit1.00%$10.00$30.00$100.00
Neo Chequing0.1%$1.00$3.00$10.00
Simplii, Tangerine, PC MoneyNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published

Conditions decide the rate. EQ Bank’s 2.75% is a 1.00% base plus a 1.75% bonus that needs your pay. Wealthsimple’s extra 0.50% needs $2,000 or more in direct deposits within 30 days, and its Premium and Generation rates need $100,000 and $500,000 in Wealthsimple assets. KOHO’s 2% needs you to opt in to interest, which is also what makes your money eligible for CDIC protection.

How and when interest is paid. Wealthsimple calculates interest daily and pays it monthly. Rates can change: Wealthsimple cut its standard rate from 1.50% to 1.25% on November 3, 2025.

Tax still applies. Interest outside a registered account is taxable income in the year earned, while interest inside a TFSA is not taxed. For money you will not spend this month, a high-interest savings account may pay more, and our compound interest calculator shows how the gap grows.

Paying a monthly fee today? See what your current account costs against these eight in one calculation.

5. No Monthly Fee Bank Account vs a Big-Bank Package

The trade-off. A big-bank unlimited package gives you branches, cheques and a wide ATM network, and charges $15.95 to $17.95 a month; most waive that fee only if you keep a large balance. A no monthly fee bank account gives up branches but charges nothing and often pays interest.

Big-bank unlimited packages: fee and waiver, October 22, 2026
PackageMonthly feeYearly if never waivedBalance to waive
National Bank The Connected$15.95$191.40$4,500
TD Unlimited Chequing Account$17.95$215.40$4,000 minimum daily
BMO Performance Chequing$17.95$215.40$4,000 every day
CIBC Smart Account$16.95 ($17.95 from January 1, 2027)$203.40$4,000 every day
Scotiabank Preferred Package$16.95$203.40$4,000 every day
RBC Signature No Limit Banking$16.95$203.40No balance waiver

What the waiver balance could earn instead. Keeping $4,000 idle to avoid a package fee earns nothing at these banks: TD posts 0.000%, Scotiabank and RBC pay no interest, and BMO, CIBC and National Bank publish no rate. The same $4,000 in a no-fee account earns $110.00 a year at EQ Bank with direct deposit (2.75%), $80.00 at KOHO Essential (2%), $70.00 at Wealthsimple Core with direct deposit (1.75%) or $60.00 at Manulife (1.50%).

When a package can still make sense. If your balance sits well above the waiver line every day and you use a branch, cheques or a bank’s credit products often, the package costs you nothing in fees. The cost is the interest that balance is not earning. Our full chequing ranking scores all six packages, and our bank and platform reviews cover individual providers in more depth.

A middle path. Keep a no-fee account for pay, bills and interest, and drop the big-bank account to its lowest-fee plan ($3.95 or $4.00 a month) for cheques and branch visits. That costs $47.40 or $48.00 a year rather than up to $215.40.

6. e-Transfers and Everyday Transactions on $0 Accounts

Unlimited is the norm. EQ Bank publishes unlimited transactions. Simplii publishes unlimited debit purchases, bill payments and withdrawals; Tangerine, unlimited debit purchases, bill payments and pre-authorized payments; PC Money, unlimited everyday transactions. Wealthsimple, KOHO and Neo state no transaction limit.

The exception is Manulife. Manulife’s transactions are unlimited only while the balance is $1,000 or more. Below that, each debit purchase, bill payment and e-Transfer sent costs $1.00. Deposits never cost anything. If your balance swings close to zero before payday, a low-balance alert set a little above the line, such as $1,200, can protect you.

e-Transfer limits and charges. Wealthsimple allows up to $50,000 a day for eligible clients, the highest published limit here. KOHO caps outbound e-Transfers at $5,000 a day. PC Money charges $3.50 to cancel a transfer you have sent, so please double-check the recipient’s email or phone number before you press send. Neo adds $1 per e-Transfer sent from January 1, 2027 for clients without a membership.

Bill payments and pre-authorized debits. Simplii and Tangerine list bill payments among their unlimited transactions, and Tangerine names pre-authorized payments too. Wealthsimple offers bill pay without stating any fee or limit. When you move a pre-authorized debit to a new account, keep the old one funded until the first payment clears.

Paying by cheque. Only Manulife (personal and official cheques, no charge to write), Tangerine (first 50 at no charge) and Wealthsimple (chequebook with payroll direct deposit) publish cheque writing. EQ Bank offers mobile cheque deposit only, and Neo’s mobile deposit is not yet available.

7. Cash and ATMs Without Fees

Two ways to avoid ATM fees. Reimbursement pays back what the machine charges; a network lets you use certain machines at no charge. EQ Bank reimburses ATM fees anywhere in Canada. Wealthsimple reimburses eligible operator fees worldwide with no cap stated. Tangerine uses Scotiabank and the Global ATM Alliance; Simplii uses CIBC; PC Money uses PC Financial ATMs; Manulife uses THE EXCHANGE while you keep $1,000.

ATM cost for two out-of-network withdrawals a month in Canada
AccountCharge per withdrawalYearly cost
EQ BankReimbursed$0
WealthsimpleReimbursed$0
Tangerine$1.50$36.00
PC Money$1.50$36.00
Manulife, below $1,000$1.50$36.00 if below $1,000 all year
Neo from January 1, 2027, no membership$1.50$36.00
SimpliiNot publishedNot published
KOHO EssentialNot publishedNot published

Travelling. Outside Canada, Tangerine charges $3 outside its partner networks, PC Money $3.00 and Manulife $3.00 below $1,000. KOHO Essential has no free international withdrawals. Wealthsimple reimburses eligible operator fees worldwide. If you also hold US dollars, compare USD savings accounts for the best US dollar rate.

Depositing cash. Online accounts have no branches, so cash can be awkward. Wealthsimple accepts cash deposits at 5,300+ Canada Post locations. We did not confirm a cash deposit method for the other online accounts, so please confirm one before you rely on cash income.

8. Welcome Offers on No-Fee Accounts

Three live offers with published terms. These were published on each provider’s pages on October 22, 2026.

Welcome offers on no-fee chequing accounts
AccountOfferConditionEnd date
Tangerine No-Fee Daily Chequing Account$250Move your payroll deposit; client number created from May 1, 2024April 30, 2027
Simplii No Fee Chequing Account$350New client; eligible direct deposit of $100 or more for 4 straight monthsJanuary 31, 2027
Neo Chequing$100Spend $1,000 in the first 3 monthsEnd date not stated

No offer stated. EQ Bank stated no welcome offer. Wealthsimple has no chequing-specific offer with published terms; its current welcome offer covers savings interest and card cash back instead. KOHO has no cash bonus, only a 30-day free trial of its paid plans, with no end date stated. PC Financial did not publish an offer.

Do not let a bonus pick the account. A $350 bonus is welcome, but it is paid once. An account that suits your habits can save or earn more than that every few years.

9. Deposit Protection on No-Fee Accounts

Three structures. A no-fee account can be insured in three ways, and the difference matters most when your balance is large.

How each no-fee account’s deposits are protected
AccountStructureCoverage published
EQ BankCDIC member (Equitable Bank)$100,000 per insured category
Manulife BankCDIC member (Manulife Bank of Canada)$100,000 per insured category
TangerineCDIC member (Tangerine Bank)$100,000 per insured category
PC MoneyCDIC member (President’s Choice Bank)$100,000 per insured category
SimpliiTrade name of CIBC, a CDIC member$100,000 per category, shared with any CIBC deposits
WealthsimpleNot a member; trust deposits at partner membersUp to $1,000,000 combined ($100,000 per beneficiary per member institution)
KOHONot a member; trust deposits after opting in to interestUp to $100,000 eligible
NeoNot a member; funds placed with an unnamed memberEligible up to $100,000

The CDIC rule in one line. CDIC insures eligible deposits, principal and interest together, up to $100,000 per insured category at each member institution. Deposits in one name, joint deposits, deposits in trust, and deposits inside an RRSP, RRIF, TFSA, RESP, RDSP or FHSA are separate categories. Deposits in Canadian or foreign currency, GICs and term deposits are covered; stocks, bonds, ETFs, mutual funds and crypto are not.

Trust coverage has fine print. Wealthsimple does not name its partner institutions, for contractual reasons, so you cannot check for overlap with deposits you already hold at a bank. KOHO’s coverage applies only after you opt in to earn interest. Neo does not name its member institution. None of this makes your money unsafe, but it is a different structure from a bank that is a CDIC member in its own right.

Simplii and CIBC share a limit. Because Simplii is a trade name of CIBC, a Simplii chequing balance and a CIBC chequing balance in the same name sit in the same $100,000 category. For the Wealthsimple structure in full, read is Wealthsimple safe, and for EQ Bank’s wider product range see our EQ Bank review.

10. Recent and Coming Changes to Watch

Neo’s 2027 fees. From January 1, 2027, Neo charges $1 per e-Transfer sent, $1.50 per cash withdrawal and $4.99 for non-sufficient funds, each waived with any Neo membership. Essentials has no membership fee, so joining it keeps these at $0. Build and Grow rose to $9.99 and $14.99 a month on October 1, 2026, and Neo Chequing replaced the Neo Everyday account, which is no longer offered.

Offer deadlines. Simplii’s $350 offer runs to January 31, 2027, and Tangerine’s $250 payroll offer ends April 30, 2027.

Rate changes. EQ Bank’s current rates took effect May 15, 2026. Wealthsimple cut its standard chequing rate from 1.50% to 1.25% on November 3, 2025, and the Wealthsimple direct-deposit boost is 0.50%. The Bank of Canada has held its policy rate at 2.25% since October 30, 2025, with announcements due October 28 and December 9, 2026; a change can flow through to chequing rates over time.

Motive Financial is gone. Motive’s chequing and savings accounts were migrated to National Bank in late fall 2025 and became National Bank’s The Total package, so Motive is no longer an option for a new no-fee account.

What we will update. If Simplii, Tangerine or PC Money publish a chequing rate, their interest score rises and the order may change. We recheck every figure on this page and date the change.

11. How to Choose a No Fee Chequing Account

Match the account to how you use money. The steps below put the factors in the order that usually decides the choice.

  1. Decide where your pay will land. If you can direct deposit your pay, EQ Bank (2.75%), KOHO Essential ($0 plan fee) and Wealthsimple (an extra 0.50% at Core and Premium) all reward it.
  2. Check your lowest balance. If you often drop below $1,000, Manulife’s per-transaction charges will apply; choose an account with no balance rule.
  3. Count your cash withdrawals. Frequent cash users should favour reimbursement (EQ Bank in Canada, Wealthsimple worldwide) or a network near home.
  4. Decide if you need cheques. Manulife, Tangerine and Wealthsimple publish cheque writing; EQ Bank does not.
  5. Pick your protection structure. EQ Bank, Manulife, Tangerine and PC Money are CDIC members; Simplii falls under CIBC; Wealthsimple, KOHO and Neo use trust arrangements.
  6. Look at the offer last. If two accounts fit equally well, a live offer can break the tie. Note the end date first.

A simple rule of thumb. Pay by direct deposit and little cash: EQ Bank. Use ATMs outside Canada: Wealthsimple. Need cheques and keep $1,000: Manulife. Want a no-strings $0 account with branch-bank ATMs: Simplii or Tangerine.

12. How to Switch to a No-Fee Account

Downgrade or close. You do not have to close your big-bank account to stop paying for it. Ask to move it to the lowest-fee plan, or to a $0 plan if you qualify by age or status, and keep it for cheques or a mortgage. If you no longer need it, close it after everything has moved.

Open and test first. Open the no-fee account, link your old account, and move a small amount both ways. Send yourself an e-Transfer and pay one small bill.

Move your pay and automatic payments. Give your employer the new direct deposit details. Then move each pre-authorized payment, one at a time, and confirm each one has come out of the new account before moving the next.

Mind the old account’s balance rule. If the old account is a package with a balance waiver, moving money out mid-month can trigger that month’s full fee. Move the bulk of the balance just after a statement date.

Time any welcome offer. Simplii’s $350 needs 4 straight months of direct deposit and Tangerine’s $250 needs your payroll moved, so point your pay at the new account from the first pay date.

Registered accounts move differently. A TFSA or RRSP should move by direct transfer between institutions, not by withdrawal. See how to transfer a TFSA, RRSP or investment account.

13. Mistakes to Avoid With No-Fee Accounts

Dropping below a balance rule. Manulife’s $1,000 line turns a $0 month into a $25.00 month for a typical pattern of use.

Forgetting KOHO’s deposit rule. A month without direct deposit or $1,000 in deposits costs $7.

Ignoring Neo’s January 1, 2027 change. Without a membership, ordinary e-Transfers and withdrawals start to cost money. The Essentials membership is free of charge and removes those fees.

Using any ATM out of habit. At Tangerine and PC Money, two out-of-network withdrawals a month cost $36.00 a year.

Keeping savings in a 0% account. Simplii, Tangerine and PC Money do not publish a chequing rate. A spare $10,000 earns $275.00 a year at EQ Bank with direct deposit.

Assuming every account takes cheques. EQ Bank does not offer cheque writing, and Neo’s mobile cheque deposit is not yet available.

What You Need and What You Get

What you need to open a no-fee account

  • Government-issued photo ID
  • A Canadian address
  • Your Social Insurance Number, for tax reporting on interest
  • A smartphone with the provider’s app
  • Your employer’s direct deposit form
  • A list of your automatic payments
  • Your current account details for the first transfer

What you get from a good no-fee account

  • $0 monthly fee with no balance to watch, or a rule you can easily meet
  • Interest of up to 2.75% with pay direct deposit
  • Unlimited transactions and e-Transfers at no charge
  • Fee-reimbursed ATMs or a large no-fee network
  • CDIC protection, directly or through trust deposits
  • Savings of up to $215.40 a year compared with an unwaived big-bank package

10 Strategies to Keep a No-Fee Account at $0

1. Join Neo Essentials before 2027

If you keep Neo Chequing, hold any Neo membership by January 1, 2027. Essentials has no fee and keeps e-Transfers, withdrawals and NSF charges at $0.

2. Set KOHO’s direct deposit once

A direct deposit is the simplest way to keep KOHO Essential at $0. Depositing $1,000 a month also works, but it is easier to miss.

3. Give Manulife a buffer

Treat $1,200 as your floor at Manulife rather than $1,000, so a surprise bill does not push you under the line and trigger $1.00 charges on every transaction that month.

4. Plan cash around the network

Take larger, less frequent withdrawals from network ATMs. At Tangerine and PC Money, every out-of-network withdrawal you avoid saves $1.50.

5. Double-check e-Transfer details

PC Money charges $3.50 to cancel a sent e-Transfer. A ten-second check of the name and address saves the charge.

6. Turn off optional overdraft you do not need

Simplii’s overdraft service costs $4.97 in any month it is used plus 19% interest. If you keep a buffer, you may not need it at all.

7. Check ATM fees before you travel

Outside Canada, Tangerine, PC Money and Manulife (below $1,000) each charge $3 a withdrawal, while Wealthsimple reimburses eligible operator fees worldwide. Four withdrawals on a trip cost $12 at $3 each ($3 x 4).

8. Move idle money to savings

Keep a month of spending in chequing and move the rest to a savings account or GIC. The savings hub compares the options, and our GIC vs HISA guide explains which suits money you may need soon.

9. Hold one big-bank account on its cheapest plan

If you need cheques or a branch now and then, a $3.95 or $4.00 account, or a $0 plan you qualify for by age or status, costs far less than a package.

10. Recheck every year

No-fee accounts change their rules too. Neo’s 2027 fees show how a $0 account can add charges, so review your account each January.

Illustrative Example: Leaving a $17.95 Account

This example is hypothetical. Maya has a TD Unlimited Chequing Account and a balance that usually sits around $2,500, below the $4,000 minimum daily balance. She pays $17.95 every month and takes out cash twice a month at machines that are not part of any network she would join.

  1. What she pays now. $17.95 x 12 = $215.40 a year, and she earns 0.000% interest.
  2. Option A: Tangerine. $0 monthly fee. If she keeps using out-of-network ATMs, two withdrawals a month cost 2 x $1.50 x 12 = $36.00. She saves $215.40 – $36.00 = $179.40 a year, or the full $215.40 if she uses Scotiabank or Global ATM Alliance machines.
  3. Option B: EQ Bank with her pay direct deposited. $0 monthly fee and ATM fees reimbursed in Canada. Interest is $2,500 x 2.75% = $68.75. Her yearly position improves by $215.40 + $68.75 = $284.15.
  4. Option C: Manulife Bank. $0 monthly fee as long as she never drops below $1,000. Interest is $2,500 x 1.50% = $37.50, so she is $215.40 + $37.50 = $252.90 better off, and she keeps the ability to write cheques.
  5. What she weighs. Option B gives the most money. Option C keeps cheques. Option A keeps cash access through a large network but no published interest rate. Options A and C leave out any surcharge a machine’s owner may add, since owners set their own.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best no fee chequing account in Canada?

On our published score, the EQ Bank Personal Account is the best no fee chequing account in Canada at 4.6 / 5. It charges no monthly fee, needs no minimum balance, includes unlimited transactions and e-Transfers, reimburses ATM fees across Canada and pays 2.75% with pay direct deposit. Wealthsimple Chequing is second at 4.4 / 5.

Is a no-fee chequing account really free?

The monthly fee is $0, but other charges can apply. Examples include $1.50 for out-of-network ATM withdrawals at Tangerine and PC Money, $3.50 to cancel an e-Transfer at PC Money, $1.00 per transaction at Manulife below $1,000, and Neo’s new fees from January 1, 2027 for clients without a membership.

Which no-fee chequing account pays the most interest?

EQ Bank pays the most, 2.75%, when your pay is direct deposited. Without direct deposit, KOHO Essential pays 2% after you opt in, though its $0 plan fee itself needs direct deposit or $1,000 a month in deposits. Wealthsimple pays 1.25% to 2.25% depending on tier and direct deposit.

Why is KOHO Essential on a list of no-fee accounts?

KOHO Essential has a $7 list price, but it costs $0 a month when you set up direct deposit or deposit $1,000 each month, with no minimum balance. Our fee factor scores it 4.5 rather than 5.0 to reflect that condition.

Do no-fee chequing accounts have CDIC protection?

Yes, in different ways. EQ Bank, Manulife, Tangerine and PC Money are CDIC members, and Simplii is covered through CIBC. Wealthsimple and KOHO are not members but place funds in trust at member institutions: up to $1,000,000 combined at Wealthsimple and up to $100,000 at KOHO (after opting in to interest). Neo, also not a member, says chequing funds are eligible for CDIC insurance up to $100,000 through a member it does not name.

Which no-fee account lets me write cheques?

Manulife Bank offers personal and official cheques with no charge to write them. Tangerine gives you a first book of 50 cheques at no charge, then $50 a book. Wealthsimple gives you a chequebook once your pay is direct deposited. EQ Bank offers mobile cheque deposit only.

What is changing at Neo in 2027?

From January 1, 2027, Neo Chequing clients without a membership pay $1 per e-Transfer sent, $1.50 per cash withdrawal and $4.99 for non-sufficient funds. All three are $0 with any Neo membership, and the Essentials membership has no fee. Paid Build and Grow memberships cost $9.99 and $14.99 a month.

Can I avoid ATM fees with a no-fee account?

Yes. EQ Bank reimburses ATM fees anywhere in Canada, and Wealthsimple reimburses eligible operator fees worldwide. Tangerine, Simplii, PC Money and Manulife (above $1,000) give you no-fee withdrawals inside their networks and charge elsewhere: $1.50 in Canada at Tangerine and PC Money.

Which no-fee accounts have a welcome offer right now?

With published terms: Simplii pays $350 after 4 straight months of $100+ direct deposits (ends January 31, 2027), Tangerine pays $250 for moving your payroll (ends April 30, 2027), and Neo pays $100 after $1,000 of spending (end date not stated).

Is a no monthly fee bank account better than a big-bank package?

For many balances, yes. A package costs $15.95 to $17.95 a month, most waive it only if you hold $4,000 or $4,500, and none of the big banks published a positive chequing rate. A no-fee account charges nothing and can pay interest, but has no branches. Some people keep both, with the big-bank account on its cheapest plan.

Can I get a $0 account at a big bank?

Only if you qualify. National Bank The Minimalist is $0 for ages 0 to 24, Scotiabank’s Basic Bank Account is $0 for seniors and several eligible groups, and TD waives its Minimum Chequing Account for certain groups, including newcomers in their first year. Otherwise these accounts cost $3.95 a month.

Is interest on a no-fee chequing account taxable?

Yes. Interest earned in a chequing account outside a registered plan is taxable income in the year you earn it, at your full marginal rate. Interest earned inside a TFSA is not taxed, so savings you will not spend soon may be better held there.

A no fee chequing account only saves money if it fits how you bank. Compare your own numbers, then read the review of the account you choose.

Figures on this page were checked against each provider’s published pricing and Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation publications on October 22, 2026. We update this page when a figure changes.

Meet the Experts Behind WealthScale

Sharad Gondaliya, CPA
Sharad Gondaliya, CPAWriter and tax reviewerCPA Ontario No. 61040184

Sharad is a CPA Ontario member (No. 61040184) and a Certified Public Accountant licensed in Washington and Montana, with more than 15 years in accounting and tax, a Diploma in Banking and Finance and a Certificate in Small Business Finance. He checks WealthScale content against primary sources. WealthScale is independent of his firm, Gondaliya CPA Professional Corporation, and provides general information only, not personal financial, investment, tax or legal advice.

  • Chartered Professional Accountant, CPA Ontario
  • Certified Public Accountant, Washington (No. 57629) and Montana (No. PAC-CPAP-LIC-033176)
  • Writing on tax and registered accounts since 2021
  • Reader’s Choice Award 2025 Winner, Best Accountant (Toronto)

Read Sharad’s profile and verify his credentials

Neha Gupta, CFA, Financial Reviewer at WealthScale
Neha Gupta, CFAFinancial ReviewerCFA charterholder

Neha Gupta is a CFA charterholder based in Winnipeg who has worked in financial markets since December 2005. She has published more than 2,600 investment articles and is Head of Operations and Finance at Whiteland Real Estate. She reviews WealthScale’s investing pages for accuracy.

  • CFA charter, CFA Institute (awarded 2023)
  • Post Graduate Diploma in Business Administration (Finance), 2008
  • In financial markets since December 2005
  • More than 2,600 published investment articles

Read Neha’s profile and verify her credentials

General information only. Not financial, investment, tax or legal advice. WealthScale is independent and is published by WealthScale Media Inc., 55 Queen St E, Suite 1205, Toronto, ON M5C 1R6. CFA® and Chartered Financial Analyst® are registered trademarks owned by CFA Institute.