Best Tax Software in Canada for 2026
The best tax software Canada filers can use for the 2025 tax year, on our published tax software score, is Wealthsimple Tax at 4.8 / 5. Its Basic tier is pay what you want, including $0, for up to two returns, with no limits on income types or deductions. H&R Block Canada and TurboTax Canada tie at 4.5 / 5 and lead on expert help, but their free tiers cover only simple returns. CloudTax (4.3), UFile (3.8), GenuTax (3.3) and StudioTax (2.6) complete the list. All seven are NETFILE-certified for the 2025 tax year. Where a price could not be confirmed for 2025, we say so instead of guessing.
At a glance
Top pick. Wealthsimple Tax scores 4.8 / 5. It earns full marks for price, features and Quebec filing. Basic is pay what you want, including $0, for up to two returns; Plus costs $40 plus tax for up to eight returns; Pro costs $80 plus tax and adds a 30-minute consultation with a tax expert.
Tied second. H&R Block Canada and TurboTax Canada both score 4.5 / 5 on identical points, so the tie is ordered by name. Both offer expert review or full-service filing and both file Quebec returns. Their free tiers cover only simple returns, and TurboTax Free excludes investment income, rental income and self-employment.
Free for everyone. GenuTax is free for every user, with optional donations, but it offers no expert help and does not confirm Quebec filing. CloudTax is free, or pay what you want, for up to two returns.
NETFILE. All seven products are on the Canada Revenue Agency’s list of NETFILE-certified software for the 2025 tax year, last updated April 7, 2026, so each can send your return to the agency electronically.
Quebec. Wealthsimple Tax (Basic and Plus), TurboTax (Do It Yourself, Expert Assist and Desktop), H&R Block and UFile file Quebec returns. CloudTax, GenuTax and StudioTax do not confirm Quebec support for 2025.
How we ranked and when. The tax software score weights price 35%, features 35%, support 15% and Quebec filing 15%. Every price and feature was checked on October 22, 2026. No provider pays for a position.
Tick what applies to your return, and the picker shows the lowest tier of each certified product that covers it, flagging anything the company does not confirm.
Best Tax Software Canada 2026: Ranking at a Glance
This table lists all seven products in score order for the 2025 tax year, the returns filed in 2026. Scores are out of 5 and shown to one decimal. H&R Block Canada and TurboTax Canada have identical points and identical unrounded scores, so they are ordered by name.
| Rank | Software | Score | Best for | Free option | Files Quebec returns |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Wealthsimple Tax | 4.8 / 5 | A full-featured return at a price you choose | Pay what you want, including $0 (up to 2 returns) | Yes (Basic and Plus) |
| 2 | H&R Block Canada | 4.5 / 5 | In-office and drop-off help alongside software | $0 for straightforward T4 returns | Yes |
| 3 | TurboTax Canada | 4.5 / 5 | Expert help from questions to full service | $0 for simple returns | Yes (not Full Service) |
| 4 | CloudTax | 4.3 / 5 | Free filing for two returns with paid review options | $0 or pay what you want (up to 2 returns) | Not confirmed |
| 5 | UFile | 3.8 / 5 | Free phone support and Quebec filing | Free for students, simple returns, first-time filers and low family income | Yes |
| 6 | GenuTax | 3.3 / 5 | Free desktop filing for every user | Free for all (donations optional) | Not confirmed |
| 7 | StudioTax | 2.6 / 5 | A free mobile app | Free mobile app; desktop download is paid | Not confirmed for 2025 |
Why the free-for-all product is not first. GenuTax scores the maximum for price but the minimum for support and only 3 for features, because its pages do not confirm what returns it handles and it offers no help. Price and features carry equal weight. Read how we rate providers for every rule behind these scores.
Tax Software Master Comparison Table
Use the search box and column sorting to filter the table. Point columns are the four sub-scores out of 5. “Not confirmed” means the company’s own pages did not state it when we checked. Prices are shown where the company publishes them, with a note where its price page carries no tax-year label.
| Rank | Software | Score | Price points | Features points | Support points | Quebec points | Free option | Paid tiers and confirmed prices | Quebec returns | Expert help | Formats on the CRA list | NETFILE 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Wealthsimple Tax | 4.8 | 5 | 5 | 4 | 5 | Basic: pay what you want, including $0, up to 2 returns | Plus $40 plus tax (up to 8 returns); Pro $80 plus tax | Basic and Plus; not Pro | 30-minute expert consultation on Pro | Online | Yes |
| 2 | H&R Block Canada | 4.5 | 3.5 | 5 | 5 | 5 | $0 for returns that qualify (straightforward T4 returns) | Deluxe, Premier, Self Employed: 2025 prices not confirmed | Yes | Expert Help add-on; in-office, drop-off and remote services | Online | Yes |
| 3 | TurboTax Canada | 4.5 | 3.5 | 5 | 5 | 5 | TurboTax Free: simple returns only | Do It Yourself, Expert Assist, Expert Full Service: priced by complexity; tier prices not confirmed | Yes, except Full Service | Expert Assist and Expert Full Service | All products certified | Yes |
| 4 | CloudTax | 4.3 | 5 | 4 | 5 | 2.5 | $0 or pay what you want, up to 2 returns | Plus $39 per account; Review & File from $49 per return; Done For You from $69 per return (no tax-year label) | Not confirmed | Live chat on Plus; review; done-for-you filing | Online and mobile app | Yes |
| 5 | UFile | 3.8 | 3.5 | 4 | 3 | 5 | Free for eligible students, simple returns, first-time filers and family income under $20,000 | UFile ONLINE from $20.95; UFile PREMIUM from $32.95 (no tax-year label) | Yes | Free phone support; no paid expert review | Online and computer download | Yes |
| 6 | GenuTax | 3.3 | 5 | 3 | 1 | 2.5 | Free for all users | None (donations optional) | Not confirmed | None | Computer download | Yes |
| 7 | StudioTax | 2.6 | 3 | 3 | 1 | 2.5 | Free mobile app | Computer download: price not published | Not confirmed for 2025 | None | Computer download and mobile app | Yes |
Reading the price column. TurboTax publishes its paid prices by return complexity, but we could not confirm which price belongs to which tier. H&R Block’s price page carries no tax-year label and its FAQ refers to older software, so we do not show its paid prices. CloudTax’s and UFile’s price pages also carry no tax-year label, so we show their published prices with that note; CloudTax’s tax-year selector shows only 2018 to 2023. StudioTax does not publish its desktop price. UFile’s prices are “starting at” figures, and its page does not say whether they apply per return.
The 7 Tax Software Products Ranked
Each card shows the score, the four sub-scores behind it, confirmed prices and what each product does and does not confirm for the 2025 tax year. Only Wealthsimple Tax has a WealthScale review page so far.
1. Wealthsimple Tax: best for a full-featured return at a price you choose
4.8/ 5Why it ranks here. Wealthsimple Tax has full marks for price (5), features (5) and Quebec filing (5), and 4 for support because its expert consultation comes with a paid tier. Its Basic tier has no restrictions on income types or deductions, which is what earns the top price score: it is the only free-or-pay-what-you-want tier on our list confirmed to cover every income type.
Prices. Basic is pay what you want, including $0, for up to two returns, with standard email support. Plus costs $40 plus tax for up to eight returns and adds priority email support, audit protection and spousal filing; it is included for Premium clients. Pro costs $80 plus tax, is included for Generation clients, and adds audit protection, one 30-minute consultation with a tax expert (guaranteed if booked before April 6, 2026) and year-round support.
What it covers. Auto-fill imports slips from the Canada Revenue Agency and Revenu Québec on every plan, and the product has a self-employment section. Basic and Plus are available in Quebec and in French; Pro is not available in Quebec or in French. Wealthsimple says it is certified by the agency and Revenu Québec for the 2023 to 2025 tax years. Rental income support was not confirmed on the pages we checked.
Pros
- $0 option with every income type and deduction
- Auto-fill from the CRA and Revenu Québec on all plans
- Quebec returns on Basic and Plus
Cons
- Pro not available in Quebec or in French
- Live expert help only on Pro
- Rental income support not confirmed
2. H&R Block Canada: best for in-office and drop-off help alongside software
4.5/ 5Why it ranks here. H&R Block scores 5 for features, 5 for support and 5 for Quebec, and 3.5 for price because its free tier covers only simple returns. Its unrounded score (4.475) is identical to TurboTax’s, and it is listed first by name.
Prices. The free tier costs $0 for “returns that qualify” and is described as suited to straightforward returns with T4 income and standard deductions. Paid tiers are Deluxe, Premier and Self Employed. H&R Block’s price page does not label the tax year, and an FAQ on it refers to older software, so we have not confirmed its 2025 prices and do not list them. The Expert Help add-on is sold separately, and its price is not shown.
What it covers. H&R Block appears on the Canada Revenue Agency’s 2025 list as “H&R Block Tax Software Free”, a paid product with free offerings based on your tax situation. It imports slips from Revenu Québec and files Quebec returns electronically, though its Instant Refund applies only to the federal portion for Quebec returns. It also offers Audit Protection and in-office, drop-off and remote tax-expert services.
Pros
- In-office, drop-off and remote expert services
- Quebec filing with Revenu Québec slip import
- Free tier for straightforward T4 returns
Cons
- 2025 paid prices not confirmed
- Expert Help add-on price not shown
- Instant Refund covers only the federal part for Quebec
3. TurboTax Canada: best for expert help from questions to full service
4.5/ 5Why it ranks here. TurboTax has the same points as H&R Block: 5 for features, support and Quebec, and 3.5 for price because TurboTax Free handles only simple returns. Its unrounded score is 4.475.
Prices. TurboTax Free costs $0 but excludes investment income, rental income, self-employment, donations and medical expenses. The paid lines, Do It Yourself, Expert Assist and Expert Full Service, each have four prices based on how complex your return is. Its pricing page lists 11 paid price points from $30, but we could not confirm which price belongs to which tier, so we do not show them by tier. A limited-time offer for people switching from other software gives Expert Assist for $60, and Full Service prices rise after April 15. On the paid Do It Yourself line you pay only when you file.
What it covers. TurboTax says all its products for the 2025 tax year are NETFILE-certified. Do It Yourself, Expert Assist and the desktop software handle both Quebec returns; Expert Full Service is not available in Quebec. Expert Assist gives unlimited questions and a final review; Expert Full Service has a dedicated expert do the return.
Pros
- Expert help on every paid line
- Quebec returns on Do It Yourself, Expert Assist and Desktop
- Pay only when you file on Do It Yourself
Cons
- Free tier excludes investment and rental income
- Paid prices not confirmed by tier
- Expert Full Service not available in Quebec
4. CloudTax: best for free filing for two returns with paid review options
4.3/ 5Why it ranks here. CloudTax scores 5 for price (its free tier is described as completely free filing), 5 for support (it offers review and done-for-you filing), 4 for features and 2.5 for Quebec because Quebec filing is not mentioned. Its unrounded score is 4.275.
Prices. The Free tier is $0, or pay what you want, for up to two returns. Its price page lists Plus at $39 per account, Review & File from $49 per return and Done For You from $69 per return. That page has no tax-year label and its tax-year selector shows 2018 to 2023, so these prices are not confirmed for 2025. The page also gives two different return limits for Plus.
What it covers. CloudTax is on the Canada Revenue Agency’s 2025 NETFILE list as free with optional paid services, online and as a mobile app. Plus adds live chat with a tax professional, Review & File adds a review of your return before filing, and Done For You has an expert prepare it.
Pros
- Free for up to two returns
- Expert-prepared returns on Done For You
- Online and mobile app
Cons
- Quebec filing not confirmed
- 2025 paid prices not confirmed
- Conflicting return limit on Plus
5. UFile: best for free phone support and Quebec filing
3.8/ 5Why it ranks here. UFile scores 5 for Quebec, 4 for features, 3.5 for price (free only for some filers) and 3 for support (free phone support, but no paid expert review). Its unrounded score is 3.825.
Prices. UFile ONLINE starts at $20.95 and UFile PREMIUM at $32.95; PREMIUM adds priority email, phone and chat support. The page does not say whether the price is per return or per family, or which tax year it applies to, and Windows prices are not shown. You pay only when you are ready to file. Filing is free for post-secondary students (with a student code), for simple returns with only one T4 or one government pension (OAS, CPP or QPP) and standard credits, for first-time filers, and for families with total income under $20,000.
What it covers. UFile is on the Canada Revenue Agency’s 2025 list as a paid product with free offerings, online and as a computer download. It files Quebec returns electronically with Revenu Québec. Help comes through free telephone support, a help centre and its “Ask UFile” service.
Pros
- Four groups of filers can file free
- Free telephone support
- Quebec filing with Revenu Québec
Cons
- No paid expert review
- Per-return or per-family pricing not stated
- Windows prices not shown
6. GenuTax: best for free desktop filing for every user
3.3/ 5Why it ranks here. GenuTax scores 5 for price because it is free for everyone, but 3 for features (not confirmed beyond basics), 1 for support (none) and 2.5 for Quebec (not mentioned). Its unrounded score is 3.325.
Prices. GenuTax Standard is completely free, and donations are optional. There are no paid tiers.
What it covers. GenuTax Standard is on the Canada Revenue Agency’s 2025 NETFILE list as free software for computer download. Its own site is out of date and still says certification had not been obtained; the agency’s list confirms its 2025 certification. Its 2025 update was scheduled for download by February 23, 2026. No expert help is mentioned.
Pros
- Free for every user
- NETFILE-certified for 2025
- Desktop software you keep on your computer
Cons
- No expert help
- Quebec filing not confirmed
- Provider pages out of date
7. StudioTax: best for a free mobile app
2.6/ 5Why it ranks here. StudioTax scores 3 for price because its desktop price is not published, 3 for features, 1 for support (none offered) and 2.5 for Quebec (not confirmed for 2025). Its unrounded score is 2.625.
Prices. According to the Canada Revenue Agency’s 2025 list, StudioTax has a free mobile app, a paid computer download and free offerings based on your tax situation. The desktop price is not published on a current page we could open; the provider page we found describes an old version.
What it covers. StudioTax is NETFILE-certified for the 2025 tax year as a computer download and a mobile app. Quebec support for 2025 is not confirmed, and no expert help is offered.
Pros
- Free mobile app, per the CRA list
- NETFILE-certified for 2025
- Desktop download available
Cons
- Desktop price not published
- Quebec not confirmed for 2025
- No expert help
1. How We Ranked the Best Tax Software in Canada
Who is included. Only products on the Canada Revenue Agency’s list of NETFILE-certified software for the 2025 tax year are ranked. A product that cannot file your return electronically is not a fair comparison, so certification is the entry ticket, not a scoring factor.
The weights. Each product gets four sub-scores from 0 to 5: price (35%), features (35%), support (15%) and Quebec filing (15%). Price and features carry the most weight because together they decide whether you can file your own return for little or nothing. Support and Quebec filing matter a lot to some filers and not at all to others.
The points rules. Price: 5 for a full-featured free tier, 3.5 when the free tier covers only simple returns, 3 when the price is not published. Features: 5 when all income types are handled, including self-employment and investment income, 4 for most, 3 for basic or not confirmed. Support: 5 when expert review or full service is available, 4 for an expert consultation on a paid tier, 3 for phone support, 1 for none. Quebec: 5 when the product files Quebec returns, 2.5 when not confirmed.
| Rank | Software | Price | Features | Support | Quebec | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Wealthsimple Tax | 5 | 5 | 4 | 5 | 4.8 / 5 |
| 2 | H&R Block Canada | 3.5 | 5 | 5 | 5 | 4.5 / 5 |
| 3 | TurboTax Canada | 3.5 | 5 | 5 | 5 | 4.5 / 5 |
| 4 | CloudTax | 5 | 4 | 5 | 2.5 | 4.3 / 5 |
| 5 | UFile | 3.5 | 4 | 3 | 5 | 3.8 / 5 |
| 6 | GenuTax | 5 | 3 | 1 | 2.5 | 3.3 / 5 |
| 7 | StudioTax | 3 | 3 | 1 | 2.5 | 2.6 / 5 |
Ties and what is not scored. Ties are ordered by the unrounded score, then by name, which is why H&R Block precedes TurboTax. We do not score ease of use, speed or refund estimates, because those cannot be checked against published facts. The full rules are on our methodology page, and how WealthScale makes money explains why no company can pay for a higher place.
2. Tax Software Prices by Tier for the 2025 Tax Year
How prices are shown. We list a price when the company’s own page shows it. Prices are for the 2025 tax year, the returns filed in 2026, where the page says so. Where a page carries no tax-year label, the table says so beside the price; where a page refers to older software or does not map prices to tiers, we leave the price out. Prices marked “plus tax” have sales tax added at checkout, which varies by province.
| Software | Tier | Price | What the tier adds |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wealthsimple Tax | Basic | Pay what you want, including $0 | Up to 2 returns; all income types and deductions; standard email support |
| Wealthsimple Tax | Plus | $40 plus tax (included for Premium clients) | Up to 8 returns; priority email support; audit protection; spousal filing |
| Wealthsimple Tax | Pro | $80 plus tax (included for Generation clients) | Audit protection; one 30-minute tax expert consultation; year-round support |
| TurboTax Canada | TurboTax Free | $0 | Simple returns only |
| TurboTax Canada | Do It Yourself | Priced by complexity; tier price not confirmed | Pay only when you file |
| TurboTax Canada | Expert Assist | Priced by complexity; tier price not confirmed | Unlimited expert questions and a final review |
| TurboTax Canada | Expert Full Service | Priced by complexity; rises after April 15 | A dedicated expert does your return |
| H&R Block Canada | Free | $0 for returns that qualify | Straightforward returns with T4 income and standard deductions |
| H&R Block Canada | Deluxe, Premier, Self Employed | 2025 prices not confirmed | Paid tiers; the Self Employed tier is named for self-employment income |
| CloudTax | Free | $0 or pay what you want | Up to 2 returns |
| CloudTax | Plus | $39 per account (no tax-year label) | Live chat with a tax professional |
| CloudTax | Review & File | From $49 per return (no tax-year label) | A review of your return before filing |
| CloudTax | Done For You | From $69 per return (no tax-year label) | An expert prepares the return |
| UFile | UFile ONLINE | From $20.95, free for eligible filers (no tax-year label) | Online filing |
| UFile | UFile PREMIUM | From $32.95 (no tax-year label) | Priority email, phone and chat support |
| GenuTax | GenuTax Standard | Free (donations optional) | Desktop software |
| StudioTax | Mobile app | Free | Mobile filing |
| StudioTax | Computer download | Paid; price not published | Desktop software |
TurboTax’s prices. TurboTax publishes 11 paid price points, from $30 up to $315, across its three paid lines and four complexity levels. Its page does not let us match each price to a tier and complexity level reliably, so we do not print a tier price we cannot stand behind. A limited-time offer for people switching from other software gives Expert Assist for $60.
Pay what you want. Wealthsimple Tax Basic and CloudTax Free let you choose what to pay, including nothing. Wealthsimple Tax Basic covers every income type and deduction whatever amount you choose.
Pay when you file. TurboTax’s paid Do It Yourself line and UFile both charge only when you are ready to file, so you can prepare a return and see the result before paying.
Prices change. Software companies often reprice each season, and Full Service prices at TurboTax rise after April 15. We will update this table when 2026 tax-year prices are published.
3. Free Tax Software Canada: Who Qualifies for Each Free Tier
Two kinds of free. Some products are free for everyone; others are free only if your return is simple. The difference matters most to investors, the self-employed and anyone with rental income, who often fall outside the simple-return tiers.
| Software | Free option | Who it is free for | Main limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wealthsimple Tax | Basic (pay what you want) | Everyone | Up to 2 returns |
| GenuTax | GenuTax Standard | Everyone | No help; Quebec not confirmed |
| CloudTax | Free (pay what you want) | Everyone | Up to 2 returns; Quebec not confirmed |
| TurboTax Canada | TurboTax Free | Simple returns | No investment, rental or self-employment income; no donation or medical claims |
| H&R Block Canada | Free | Returns that qualify | Suited to T4 income and standard deductions |
| UFile | Free filing | Post-secondary students, simple one-slip returns, first-time filers, family income under $20,000 | Simple returns: one T4 or one government pension and standard credits |
| StudioTax | Mobile app | Mobile app users | Desktop version is paid |
Free for everyone. Wealthsimple Tax Basic has no restrictions on income types or deductions, so investment income, self-employment and capital gains are all in the free tier. GenuTax is free for every user, but its pages do not confirm which returns it handles. CloudTax’s free tier covers two returns.
Free only for simple returns. TurboTax Free excludes investment income, rental income, self-employment, donations and medical expenses, so claiming even one charitable receipt moves you to a paid tier. H&R Block’s free tier is described as suited to T4 income and standard deductions. UFile is free for a single T4 or government pension (OAS, CPP or QPP) with standard credits.
Free for some people. UFile also files free for post-secondary students, first-time filers and families with total income under $20,000. If someone in your household fits one of these groups, their return may cost nothing even if yours does not.
Watch the return count. Wealthsimple Tax Basic and CloudTax Free each cover up to two returns. A family of three or more needs a paid tier, or a second product for the extra returns. Use the tax software picker to match your situation to a tier.
4. NETFILE Software: What Certification Means
What NETFILE is. NETFILE is the Canada Revenue Agency’s service for sending a personal income tax return electronically from approved software. The agency certifies software for each tax year. All seven products on this page are on its list of NETFILE-certified software for the 2025 tax year, last modified April 7, 2026.
| Software | Listed as | Formats |
|---|---|---|
| Wealthsimple Tax | Free; optional paid services | Online |
| TurboTax Canada | TurboTax says all its 2025 products are NETFILE-certified | Online and desktop |
| H&R Block Canada | “H&R Block Tax Software Free”: paid, with free offerings based on tax situation | Online |
| CloudTax | Free with optional paid services | Online and mobile app |
| UFile | Paid, with free offerings | Online and computer download |
| GenuTax | “GenuTax Standard”: free | Computer download |
| StudioTax | Free mobile app; paid computer download; free offerings based on tax situation | Computer download and mobile app |
Certification is by tax year. The list we checked covers the 2025 tax year. When the 2026 tax year opens for filing, each company must be certified again, and we will update this page from the new list.
Quebec has its own certification. Quebec residents also file a provincial return with Revenu Québec. Wealthsimple says Wealthsimple Tax is certified by both the Canada Revenue Agency and Revenu Québec for the 2023 to 2025 tax years. Section 7 covers which products file Quebec returns.
Do not rely on a provider’s own claim alone. GenuTax’s site still says certification had not been obtained, yet the agency’s 2025 list includes GenuTax Standard. StudioTax’s own page describes an old version. Our ranking uses the agency’s list as the source for certification.
Investors need software that handles capital gains and foreign income. See what a sale will cost you before you file.
5. Investment Income, Self-Employment and Complex Returns
What the features score measures. Features score 5 when a product handles all income types, including self-employment and investment income, 4 when it handles most, and 3 when its coverage is basic or not confirmed. Wealthsimple Tax, H&R Block and TurboTax score 5; CloudTax and UFile 4; GenuTax and StudioTax 3.
| Software | Self-employment | Investment income | Rental income |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wealthsimple Tax | Yes, a self-employment section; Basic covers all income types | Yes, on Basic | Not confirmed |
| TurboTax Canada | Not on TurboTax Free; paid lines priced by complexity | Not on TurboTax Free | Not on TurboTax Free |
| H&R Block Canada | Self Employed tier | Not confirmed by tier | Not confirmed by tier |
| CloudTax | Not confirmed by tier | Not confirmed by tier | Not confirmed by tier |
| UFile | Not on the free simple-return option | Not on the free simple-return option | Not on the free simple-return option |
| GenuTax | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| StudioTax | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
Investors. If you sold shares, funds or crypto in a non-registered account, received dividends or interest, or hold US investments, your return needs capital gains, investment income and possibly foreign tax credit entries. TurboTax Free cannot do this, and UFile’s free option is limited to simple slips. Wealthsimple Tax Basic covers all income types. Section 10 lists the investor items to check.
The self-employed. A self-employment return reports business income and expenses. Wealthsimple Tax includes a self-employment section, and H&R Block has a tier named Self Employed, though its 2025 price is not confirmed. TurboTax’s paid lines are priced by complexity, so a self-employment return will cost more than a simple one.
Rental income. None of the seven products confirms rental income support by tier on the pages we checked, except that TurboTax Free excludes it. If you own a rental, please confirm the tier handles it before you start.
6. Expert Help, Review and Full-Service Filing
Three levels of help. Expert help comes in three forms: answers to questions while you prepare your own return, a review of your finished return before you file, and full service, where an expert prepares and files the return for you. Our support score gives 5 for review or full service, 4 for a consultation on a paid tier, 3 for phone support and 1 for none.
| Software | Help offered | Price | Support points |
|---|---|---|---|
| H&R Block Canada | Expert Help add-on; Audit Protection; in-office, drop-off and remote tax-expert services | Not shown | 5 |
| TurboTax Canada | Expert Assist (unlimited questions and a final review); Expert Full Service (an expert does your return) | Priced by complexity; not confirmed by tier | 5 |
| CloudTax | Plus (live chat with a tax professional); Review & File; Done For You | Plus $39 per account; Review & File from $49; Done For You from $69 (no tax-year label) | 5 |
| Wealthsimple Tax | Pro: one 30-minute expert consultation and year-round support; email support on every plan | $80 plus tax | 4 |
| UFile | Free telephone support, help centre, Ask UFile | Free | 3 |
| GenuTax | None mentioned | Not applicable | 1 |
| StudioTax | None offered | Not applicable | 1 |
Wealthsimple Tax support by tier. Basic gets standard email support, Plus gets priority email support, and Pro adds a 30-minute consultation with a tax expert and year-round support. For the 2025 tax year, the consultation was guaranteed only if booked before April 6, 2026.
Audit protection. Wealthsimple Tax Plus and Pro include audit protection, and H&R Block offers Audit Protection. The terms of each are set by the company, so read what is covered before you rely on it.
Quebec limits on expert help. Wealthsimple Tax Pro, including its live consultation, is not available to Quebec residents, and TurboTax Expert Full Service is not available in Quebec. TurboTax Expert Assist, with unlimited questions and a final review, is available in Quebec.
7. Filing a Quebec Return
Two returns. Quebec residents file a federal return with the Canada Revenue Agency and a provincial return with Revenu Québec. Software that handles only the federal return leaves you to file the Quebec return another way, so check Quebec support before anything else if you live there.
| Software | Files Quebec returns | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Wealthsimple Tax | Basic and Plus | Available in French on Basic and Plus; Pro not available in Quebec or in French; auto-fill imports Revenu Québec slips |
| TurboTax Canada | Do It Yourself, Expert Assist and Desktop | Both returns; Expert Full Service not available in Quebec |
| H&R Block Canada | Yes | Imports Revenu Québec slips and files with Revenu Québec; Instant Refund covers only the federal portion |
| UFile | Yes | Files electronically with Revenu Québec |
| CloudTax | Not confirmed | Quebec not mentioned on its pages |
| GenuTax | Not confirmed | Quebec not mentioned on its pages |
| StudioTax | Not confirmed for 2025 | Only an old provider page was available |
The lowest-cost Quebec option. Wealthsimple Tax Basic files Quebec returns at a price you choose, including $0, for up to two returns, with no limits on income types. UFile, H&R Block and TurboTax also file Quebec returns; check that the specific free or paid tier you pick includes the Quebec return before you start.
Slip import. Wealthsimple Tax imports slips from Revenu Québec on every plan, and H&R Block imports them too. Importing reduces the risk of missing a Quebec-only slip.
Refund timing. H&R Block’s Instant Refund applies only to the federal portion of a Quebec return. Any Quebec refund arrives from Revenu Québec on its own schedule.
8. Online, Desktop or Mobile
Three formats. According to the Canada Revenue Agency’s 2025 list, Wealthsimple Tax and H&R Block are online products, CloudTax runs online and as a mobile app, UFile online and as a computer download, StudioTax as a computer download and a mobile app, and GenuTax as a computer download. TurboTax offers online products and desktop software.
Online. Online software runs in a browser, keeps your return on the company’s servers and needs no installation. Wealthsimple Tax’s auto-fill, which imports your slips from the Canada Revenue Agency and Revenu Québec, works on every plan.
Desktop. Desktop software keeps your return on your own computer. Each tax year needs that year’s version: GenuTax’s 2025 update was scheduled for download by February 23, 2026. UFile does not show its Windows prices, and StudioTax does not publish its desktop price.
Mobile. CloudTax and StudioTax offer mobile apps that are on the agency’s NETFILE list. A phone works well for a simple return; a return with many slips is easier on a larger screen.
| Software | Online | Computer download | Mobile app |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wealthsimple Tax | Yes | Not listed | Not listed |
| TurboTax Canada | Yes | Yes (Desktop) | Not listed |
| H&R Block Canada | Yes | Not listed | Not listed |
| CloudTax | Yes | Not listed | Yes |
| UFile | Yes | Yes | Not listed |
| GenuTax | Not listed | Yes | Not listed |
| StudioTax | Not listed | Yes | Yes |
Already a Wealthsimple client? Your membership tier may include a paid tax tier at no charge.
9. Wealthsimple Tax and Wealthsimple Membership Tiers
Tax tiers tied to account tiers. Wealthsimple Tax Plus is included for Wealthsimple Premium clients, and Pro is included for Generation clients. Premium starts at $100,000 in assets with Wealthsimple and Generation at $500,000. Everyone else can use Basic at a price they choose or buy Plus ($40 plus tax) or Pro ($80 plus tax).
| Membership tier | Assets needed | Wealthsimple Tax included | Price otherwise |
|---|---|---|---|
| Core | $1 | Basic | Basic: pay what you want |
| Premium | $100,000 | Plus | $40 plus tax |
| Generation | $500,000 | Pro | $80 plus tax |
Households count. Two or more Wealthsimple clients who share a residential address can form a household, and combined household assets count toward Premium or Generation. A couple who reach $100,000 together can get Plus, which covers up to eight returns, at no charge.
What counts toward a tier. Status is based on the higher of net deposits or total portfolio value, and almost all Wealthsimple accounts count, including TFSA, RRSP, RESP, non-registered, savings and chequing. Market drops do not reduce net deposits, so a drop alone does not cost you a tier while your net deposits stay above the threshold.
Do not move money just for tax software. Plus is worth $40 plus tax a year. That is a small reason on its own to move investments; compare fees, accounts and rates first. Read the full Wealthsimple review, every charge in Wealthsimple fees and our Wealthsimple Tax review for the detail.
10. Investor Tax Items Your Software Must Handle
Why this matters. The cheapest tier is no bargain if it cannot report what you own. These are the investment items that most often push a return out of a simple-return tier, with the rules that apply.
| Item | Rule | What to check in your software |
|---|---|---|
| Capital losses | Net capital losses can be carried back three years or forward indefinitely; the inclusion rate is one half for 2026, as it was for losses incurred from 2001 to 2025 | It records last year’s carryforward and lets you apply it |
| Superficial losses | A loss is denied if you or an affiliated person, such as a spouse, buy identical property within 30 calendar days before or after the sale and still hold it 30 days after | You can adjust the loss and the cost of the new shares |
| US dividends | The Canada-US tax treaty caps US tax on dividends at 15%; RRSPs and RRIFs are exempt, TFSAs, RESPs and FHSAs are not | Foreign income and foreign tax paid can be entered for non-registered accounts |
| Foreign tax credit | Report the gross foreign income and claim the federal credit on Form T2209 (line 40500); outside Quebec, claim the provincial part on Form T2036 | Both forms are supported in your tier |
| RRSP deduction | The 2025 dollar limit is $32,490; contributions for 2025 were due by March 2, 2026; unused room and undeducted contributions carry forward | You can enter contributions and choose how much to deduct |
| FHSA deduction | Contributions can be deducted in the year made or a later year, even after the FHSA is closed; transfers from an RRSP are not deductible | FHSA contributions and carried-forward deductions are supported |
RRSP over-contributions. Contributions above your deduction limit plus $2,000 are taxed at 1% a month, and the return for that tax (Form T1-OVP) is due within 90 days after the end of the calendar year. Software prepares your income tax return; check whether it also prepares the T1-OVP before you rely on it. Our guide to the RRSP contribution limit explains the cushion, and the RRSP tax refund calculator shows what a deduction is worth.
TFSA over-contributions. A TFSA excess is taxed at 1% a month, and the TFSA return is due by June 30 of the following year. Check your room on the TFSA contribution limit page first. See our TFSA guide and US stocks in a TFSA for how withholding works there.
FHSA and the 2026 limits. The FHSA allows $8,000 of room a year and $40,000 over your lifetime, and the 2026 RRSP dollar limit is $33,810. Read the FHSA guide or try the FHSA calculator before you plan next year’s deductions.
Capital gains, borrowing and withdrawals. Our capital gains tax calculator shows the tax on a sale by province, so you can check the figure your software produces. If you paid interest on money borrowed to invest, our margin rates page explains in general terms when it can be deducted. If you take more than the minimum from a RRIF, the excess has tax withheld at lump-sum rates; see the RRIF minimum withdrawal table. A Home Buyers’ Plan withdrawal also needs tracking on your return. Every calculator is listed on our calculators page.
11. How to Choose Tax Software
The best tax software for you is the cheapest product that confirms every part of your return. These six steps use the tables and picker on this page.
- List your income types. Employment, pension, investment income, capital gains, self-employment, rental and foreign income. Each one can move you out of a free tier.
- Check your province. If you live in Quebec, narrow the list to products that file Quebec returns (section 7).
- Count the returns. Count everyone in your household who will file, and check each tier’s return limit.
- Check the free tiers first. See whether your return fits a free option (section 3), including UFile’s free groups for students, first-time filers and low family income.
- Decide how much help you want. If you want a review or an expert to file for you, compare the options in section 6.
- Confirm the price and certification. Make sure the product is NETFILE-certified for the year you are filing and that you know the price before you start.
A shortcut by situation. For a return with investment income or self-employment at little or no cost, Wealthsimple Tax Basic covers every income type. For in-person help, H&R Block offers in-office and drop-off services. For a range of expert help, TurboTax offers Expert Assist and Expert Full Service. For a free desktop program, GenuTax is free for everyone. Use the picker to check your exact situation, and if you invest, compare where to hold those investments on our best online brokers page.
12. Common Tax Software Mistakes
Starting in a free tier that cannot finish. TurboTax Free excludes investment income, rental income, self-employment, donations and medical expenses. Check your slips and receipts against the free tier’s limits before you begin, so you do not discover the upgrade at the end.
Using last year’s software for this year’s return. NETFILE certification is by tax year. Desktop users need the current year’s version, and a provider’s page may lag behind the Canada Revenue Agency’s list.
Missing a slip. Investment slips can arrive late or only online. Auto-fill helps where it is offered, but compare the imported slips against your own records.
Forgetting carryforwards. Unused RRSP deductions, FHSA deductions and net capital losses can carry forward. If you switch software, have last year’s return and notice of assessment to hand so nothing is lost.
Treating the return as only about tax. Your return also supplies the income figures the Canada Revenue Agency uses for benefit payments such as the GST/HST credit. See every payment date on our CRA benefit payment dates page.
Assuming Quebec support. CloudTax, GenuTax and StudioTax do not confirm Quebec filing for 2025, and Wealthsimple Tax Pro and TurboTax Expert Full Service are not available in Quebec.
Paying for help you do not use. A tier with expert help costs more. If your return is simple, the free or lowest tier may be enough; if it is not, help can be worth it. Decide before you start, not at checkout.
What You Need and What You Get
What you need to file with tax software
- Your Social Insurance Number and date of birth
- A product that is NETFILE-certified for the tax year you are filing
- For Quebec residents, a product that also files the Revenu Québec return
- Every slip for the year: employment, pension, investment and benefit slips
- RRSP and FHSA contribution receipts, and any amounts you chose not to deduct before
- Receipts for credits and deductions you plan to claim, such as donations or medical expenses
- The cost and sale details of investments you sold in a non-registered account
- Last year’s return and notice of assessment, for carryforward amounts
What you get from good tax software
- A federal return filed electronically through NETFILE
- A Quebec return filed with Revenu Québec, with the products that support it
- Slips imported automatically where offered (Wealthsimple Tax, on every plan)
- Free filing if your return fits a free tier
- Up to 8 returns on one Wealthsimple Tax Plus purchase
- Expert questions, review or full service on the tiers that include them
- Audit protection on Wealthsimple Tax Plus and Pro, or as an H&R Block option
- A saved copy of your return to compare with next year
10 Ways to Pay Less to File Your Return
These are general, rule-based ways to keep filing costs down. None depends on a particular product being right for you.
1. Start with the free tier that truly fits
Check your slips against each free tier’s limits before you begin. TurboTax Free excludes investment income, rental income, self-employment, donations and medical expenses; Wealthsimple Tax Basic has no income-type limits. Starting in the right tier avoids a surprise upgrade at the end.
2. Count your household’s returns
Wealthsimple Tax Basic and CloudTax Free cover up to two returns, and Wealthsimple Tax Plus covers up to eight. Counting everyone who files before you buy tells you whether one purchase can cover the whole family.
3. Check UFile’s free groups
UFile files free for post-secondary students, first-time filers, families with total income under $20,000 and simple returns with one T4 or one government pension. A student or a newcomer in your home may file for nothing.
4. Use perks you already have
Wealthsimple Premium clients ($100,000 or more, including household assets) get Tax Plus included, and Generation clients ($500,000 or more) get Pro. If you already qualify, there is no reason to pay for those tiers.
5. Prepare first, pay when you file
TurboTax’s paid Do It Yourself line and UFile charge only when you file. Enter everything first, then decide whether the result is worth the price or whether a different product would cost less.
6. Buy only the help you need
Choose the lightest level of help that covers your return. TurboTax Expert Assist gives unlimited questions and a final review, while Expert Full Service has an expert do the return, and Full Service prices rise after April 15.
7. File early for full-service pricing
Because TurboTax Expert Full Service prices rise after April 15, booking help early in the season costs less. Gathering your slips in March gives you time to compare products before prices change.
8. Import your slips where you can
Wealthsimple Tax imports slips from the Canada Revenue Agency and Revenu Québec on every plan. Importing cuts typing errors and the risk of missing a slip, which can lead to a reassessment and interest later.
9. Keep last year’s return
Unused RRSP and FHSA deductions and net capital losses carry forward. Having last year’s return and notice of assessment to hand means you claim them in full, whichever software you use this year.
10. In Quebec, choose one product for both returns
Wealthsimple Tax Basic and Plus, TurboTax Do It Yourself, Expert Assist and Desktop, H&R Block and UFile file both returns. Using one product for both saves entering the same information twice.
Illustrative Example: Filing for a Family of Four
This example is hypothetical. Anita and Marc live in Ontario with two adult children who are full-time post-secondary students. Anita has T4 employment income and dividends from a non-registered account. Marc is self-employed. Both children have part-time T4 income. All four will file for the 2025 tax year.
- What the parents’ returns need. Anita’s return has investment income and Marc’s has self-employment income, so TurboTax Free cannot handle either. TurboTax’s paid prices are not confirmed by tier, so we cannot price that route here.
- Option A: one Wealthsimple Tax Plus purchase. Plus covers up to eight returns for $40 plus tax. Before tax, that is $40 / 4 = $10.00 a return.
- Option B: Basic for the parents, UFile for the students. Wealthsimple Tax Basic covers two returns with no income-type limits at a price they choose; if they choose $0, the parents file for $0. UFile files free for post-secondary students, so the two children file for $0. Total: $0 + $0 = $0.
- Option C: use a membership perk. If the household holds $100,000 or more with Wealthsimple, counting both parents’ accounts together, Plus is included. All four returns could then be filed in one account for $0.
- Over five years. Option A costs $40 x 5 = $200 plus tax. Options B and C cost $0 if the family’s situation and the products’ terms stay the same.
- If they lived in Quebec. Wealthsimple Tax Basic and Plus file Quebec returns, so options A, B (for the parents) and C still work. UFile also files with Revenu Québec.
What it shows. The cheapest route depends on what each return contains and how many returns the household files, not on the headline price of one product. Run each family member through the tax software picker, and check the TFSA vs RRSP comparison before deciding where next year’s savings go.
Best Tax Software Canada FAQ
What is the best tax software in Canada for 2026?
On our published score, Wealthsimple Tax is the best tax software in Canada for the 2025 tax year, filed in 2026, at 4.8 / 5. Its Basic tier is pay what you want, including $0, for up to two returns with no income-type limits. H&R Block Canada and TurboTax Canada follow at 4.5 / 5, with stronger expert help but free tiers limited to simple returns.
Is there free tax software in Canada?
Yes. GenuTax is free for every user, Wealthsimple Tax Basic and CloudTax Free let you pay what you want, including $0, for up to two returns, and StudioTax has a free mobile app. TurboTax Free and H&R Block’s free tier cover simple returns only. UFile is free for post-secondary students, first-time filers, families with income under $20,000 and simple one-slip returns.
Which free tax software handles investment income?
Wealthsimple Tax Basic has no restrictions on income types or deductions, so it covers dividends, interest and capital gains at a price you choose, including $0. TurboTax Free excludes investment income. GenuTax is free for everyone, but its pages do not confirm which income types it handles. CloudTax does not confirm coverage by tier.
What is NETFILE software?
NETFILE is the Canada Revenue Agency’s service for filing a personal return electronically from certified software. The agency certifies products for each tax year. All seven products on this page, Wealthsimple Tax, H&R Block, TurboTax, CloudTax, UFile, GenuTax and StudioTax, are on its NETFILE-certified list for the 2025 tax year, last modified April 7, 2026.
Which tax software files Quebec returns?
Wealthsimple Tax files Quebec returns on Basic and Plus, but not Pro. TurboTax files both returns on Do It Yourself, Expert Assist and Desktop, but Expert Full Service is not available in Quebec. H&R Block and UFile file with Revenu Québec. CloudTax, GenuTax and StudioTax do not confirm Quebec filing for 2025.
How much does TurboTax cost in Canada?
TurboTax Free costs $0 for simple returns. Its paid lines, Do It Yourself, Expert Assist and Expert Full Service, each have four prices based on complexity, and its page lists paid prices from $30. We could not confirm which price belongs to which tier, so we do not quote tier prices. A limited-time switch offer gives Expert Assist for $60.
How much does H&R Block tax software cost?
H&R Block’s free tier costs $0 for returns that qualify, typically straightforward returns with T4 income and standard deductions. Its paid tiers are Deluxe, Premier and Self Employed, but its price page carries no tax-year label, so we have not confirmed 2025 prices. Its Expert Help add-on is sold separately and its price is not shown.
Is Wealthsimple Tax really free?
Wealthsimple Tax Basic is pay what you want, and $0 is allowed, for up to two returns with no limits on income types or deductions. Plus costs $40 plus tax for up to eight returns and adds priority support and audit protection. Pro costs $80 plus tax and adds a 30-minute expert consultation. Premium and Generation clients get Plus or Pro included.
Which tax software offers help from a tax expert?
H&R Block offers an Expert Help add-on plus in-office, drop-off and remote services. TurboTax offers Expert Assist (unlimited questions and a final review) and Expert Full Service. CloudTax offers live chat, Review & File and Done For You. Wealthsimple Tax Pro includes a 30-minute consultation. UFile offers free phone support, and GenuTax and StudioTax offer no expert help.
Can one purchase cover my whole family’s returns?
With some products. Wealthsimple Tax Plus covers up to eight returns for $40 plus tax, and Basic covers two at a price you choose. CloudTax Free covers two returns. UFile does not say whether its prices apply per return or per family. For a family of four, one Wealthsimple Tax Plus purchase works out to $10.00 a return before tax.
Is GenuTax still NETFILE-certified?
Yes. GenuTax Standard is on the Canada Revenue Agency’s NETFILE-certified list for the 2025 tax year as free software for computer download. GenuTax’s own site is out of date and still says certification had not been obtained, but the agency’s list is the authority. Its 2025 update was scheduled for download by February 23, 2026.
Which tax software handles self-employment income?
Wealthsimple Tax includes a self-employment section, and its Basic tier covers all income types. H&R Block has a Self Employed tier, though its 2025 price is not confirmed. TurboTax’s paid lines handle more complex returns at prices based on complexity, while TurboTax Free excludes self-employment. Use the picker on this page to match your situation.
How does WealthScale rank tax software?
We rank only NETFILE-certified products and score each on price (35%), features (35%), support (15%) and Quebec filing (15%). Every price and feature was checked on October 22, 2026, and we flag any price whose page does not confirm the tax year. No company pays for a position, and our editorial standards page explains how we keep rankings independent.
Ready to choose the best tax software in Canada for your return? Tick your income types in the picker, then read the full review of your top choice.
Figures on this page were checked against each provider’s published pricing and Canada Revenue Agency publications on October 22, 2026. We update this page when a figure changes.
Meet the Experts Behind WealthScale

Sharad is a CPA Ontario member (No. 61040184) and a Certified Public Accountant licensed in Washington and Montana, with more than 15 years in accounting and tax, a Diploma in Banking and Finance and a Certificate in Small Business Finance. He checks WealthScale content against primary sources. WealthScale is independent of his firm, Gondaliya CPA Professional Corporation, and provides general information only, not personal financial, investment, tax or legal advice.
- Chartered Professional Accountant, CPA Ontario
- Certified Public Accountant, Washington (No. 57629) and Montana (No. PAC-CPAP-LIC-033176)
- Writing on tax and registered accounts since 2021
- Reader’s Choice Award 2025 Winner, Best Accountant (Toronto)

Neha Gupta is a CFA charterholder based in Winnipeg who has worked in financial markets since December 2005. She has published more than 2,600 investment articles and is Head of Operations and Finance at Whiteland Real Estate. She reviews WealthScale’s investing pages for accuracy.
- CFA charter, CFA Institute (awarded 2023)
- Post Graduate Diploma in Business Administration (Finance), 2008
- In financial markets since December 2005
- More than 2,600 published investment articles
General information only. Not financial, investment, tax or legal advice. WealthScale is independent and is published by WealthScale Media Inc., 55 Queen St E, Suite 1205, Toronto, ON M5C 1R6. CFA® and Chartered Financial Analyst® are registered trademarks owned by CFA Institute.