Wealthsimple Tax Review
WealthScale is independent and not affiliated with Wealthsimple.
This Wealthsimple tax review finds NETFILE-certified software where the Basic plan is pay what you want, including $0, for up to 2 returns with every income type and deduction. Plus costs $40 plus tax for up to 8 returns, with priority email support and audit protection, and is included for Premium clients. Pro costs $80 plus tax, adds a 30-minute tax expert consultation, and is included for Generation clients, but is not available in Quebec or in French. Wealthsimple Tax scores 4.8 / 5, first of the seven NETFILE-certified products we rank. Prices are for the 2025 tax year, filed in 2026.
At a glance
Verdict. Wealthsimple Tax is the top-ranked tax software in our scoring and a strong fit for most people who file their own return. Its Basic plan lets you pay what you want, including $0, with no limits on income types or deductions.
Score. Wealthsimple Tax scores 4.8 / 5 in our tax software ranking as of October 22, 2026, rank 1 of 7 NETFILE-certified products. Sub-scores: price 5.0, features 5.0, support 4.0 and Quebec 5.0.
Pricing for the 2025 tax year. Basic: pay what you want, including $0, for up to 2 returns. Plus: $40 plus tax for up to 8 returns, included for Premium clients. Pro: $80 plus tax, included for Generation clients.
Expert help. Pro includes one 30-minute consultation with a tax expert, guaranteed if booked before April 6, 2026, and year-round access to tax experts. Basic and Plus offer email support: standard (about 3 days) on Basic and priority (about 1 day) on Plus.
Certification and Quebec. Wealthsimple Tax is certified for NETFILE by the CRA and for Revenu Quebec’s filing system for the 2023 to 2025 tax years. Basic and Plus work in Quebec and in French. Pro is not available in Quebec or in French.
Gaps. Self-employment income (form T2125) is supported. Support for rental income (form T776) is not confirmed in Wealthsimple’s published plan details, so check before you buy if you own a rental.
Tick what applies to your return in the tax software picker below. It shows the lowest tier of each NETFILE-certified product that covers your situation and flags anything a company does not confirm.
1. Wealthsimple Tax Review: Our Verdict and Score
The short version. Wealthsimple Tax ranks first of the seven NETFILE-certified products we score, at 4.8 / 5. It earns full marks on price, features and Quebec filing, and 4.0 on support. The reason is simple: its Basic plan has no limits on income types or deductions, and you can pay $0 for it.
How we score tax software. Price and features carry 35% each, support 15% and Quebec filing 15%. Price earns 5 for a full-featured free tier, 3.5 where the free tier covers only simple returns and 3 where prices are not published. Features earn 5 for all income types including self-employment and investments. Support earns 5 for expert review or full service and 4 for an expert consultation on a paid tier. The full rubric is on our rating methodology page.
| Factor | Weight | Wealthsimple Tax sub-score | What we measured |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | 35% | 5.0 | Full-featured plan at a price you choose, including $0 |
| Features | 35% | 5.0 | All income types, including self-employment and investments |
| Support | 15% | 4.0 | Expert consultation on the paid Pro plan; no expert review or full-service option in the published plans |
| Quebec | 15% | 5.0 | Files Quebec returns on Basic and Plus |
| Overall | 100% | 4.8 / 5 | Rank 1 of 7 NETFILE-certified products |
Where it loses points. Support is the one factor below full marks. Wealthsimple offers a 30-minute expert consultation on Pro, but its published plans do not include a service where an expert reviews or prepares your return. H&R Block and TurboTax both offer that, which is why they score 5 on support. If you want someone else to do the work, Wealthsimple Tax is not built for that.
Who it is not for. People with rental income should check support for form T776 before they rely on it, because Wealthsimple’s published plan details do not confirm it. Quebec residents who want expert help cannot buy Pro. Scores never depend on payment from a provider; see how WealthScale makes money.
2. Wealthsimple Tax Pricing: Basic, Plus and Pro
Three plans for the 2025 tax year. Wealthsimple Tax prices its plans for the return you file in 2026, covering the 2025 tax year. Prices for the 2026 tax year, filed in 2027, have not been published. Sales tax is added to the Plus and Pro prices at your province’s rate.
| Plan | Price | Returns included | Included for | Available in Quebec and French |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | Pay what you want, including $0 | 2 | Everyone | Yes |
| Plus | $40 plus tax | 8 | Premium and Generation clients | Yes |
| Pro | $80 plus tax | Wealthsimple’s pages give two different counts | Generation clients | No |
How the price relates to your Wealthsimple tier. Premium starts at $100,000 in assets with Wealthsimple and Generation at $500,000. If you reach Premium, you get Plus at no charge; at Generation, Pro is included. Assets in managed, self-directed, crypto, savings and chequing accounts all count, and household members at the same address can combine assets toward a tier.
What the paid plans cost over time. Plus at $40 a year costs $200 over five years before tax ($40 x 5). Pro at $80 costs $400 over five years ($80 x 5). Compared with paying for full-service preparation, both are small amounts, but compared with Basic at $0 they are worth paying only if you need what they add.
Pro’s return count. Wealthsimple’s plan chart and its FAQ give different numbers for how many returns Pro covers, so we do not state one. If you file more than 8 returns for a household, please confirm the Pro limit in the product before you pay.
No surprise upgrade charges. Basic covers every income type and deduction, so a more complex return does not force you onto a paid plan. That is the core difference from software where the free tier stops at simple T4 returns and the price rises with complexity. Our best tax software in Canada ranking compares how each product prices complex returns.
3. What Each Wealthsimple Tax Plan Covers
The same tax engine, different service. All three plans let you prepare and file a complete return. What changes is how many returns you can file, how fast support answers, and whether you get audit protection and an expert consultation.
| Feature | Basic | Plus | Pro |
|---|---|---|---|
| Income types and deductions | All | All | All |
| Returns included | 2 | 8 | Not confirmed |
| Auto-fill of slips from the CRA and Revenu Quebec | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Email support | Standard, about 3 days | Priority, about 1 day | Priority |
| Audit protection | Not listed | Yes | Yes |
| Spousal filing | Not listed | Listed | Not listed separately |
| 30-minute tax expert consultation | No | No | Yes, one |
| Year-round tax experts | No | No | Yes |
| Quebec and French | Yes | Yes | No |
Basic. Basic covers up to 2 returns with every income type and deduction, standard email support with replies in about 3 days, and auto-fill of your tax slips. For most single filers and many couples, Basic is the whole product.
Plus. Plus raises the limit to 8 returns, speeds email support to about 1 day, adds audit protection and lists spousal filing among its features. It suits a household filing several returns, such as parents and adult children, or anyone who wants faster answers in March and April.
Pro. Pro adds a 30-minute consultation with a tax expert and access to tax experts year-round, plus audit protection. The consultation was guaranteed only if booked before April 6, 2026, so book early in the season. Pro is not available in Quebec or in French.
Audit protection. Plus and Pro list audit protection, but the plan details we checked do not describe its scope. Before you rely on it, read the plan terms to see whether it means guidance on CRA letters, help preparing a response, or both. Either way, you remain responsible for the accuracy of your return.
4. Is Wealthsimple Tax Free? Pay What You Want Explained
The short answer. Basic can cost $0. Wealthsimple lets you choose what to pay for Basic, including nothing, and the plan has no limits on income types or deductions. It covers up to 2 returns. The costs that remain are your time, slower email support, and Plus or Pro if you need more returns, faster support, audit protection or an expert.
How pay what you want works. When you file on Basic, you pick an amount. You can choose $0 and still file a complete return. The lowest amount you can choose is $0.
| Product | Free or $0 option | What the free option covers |
|---|---|---|
| Wealthsimple Tax | Basic, pay what you want | All income types and deductions; up to 2 returns |
| TurboTax Canada | TurboTax Free | Simple returns only; excludes investment, rental and self-employment income, donations and medical expenses |
| H&R Block Canada | Free | Straightforward returns with T4 income and standard deductions |
| CloudTax | Free or pay what you want | Up to 2 returns |
| UFile | Free for some filers | Students, simple one-T4 or pension returns, first-time filers, family income under $20,000 |
| GenuTax | Free | All users; donations optional |
| StudioTax | Free mobile app | Desktop version is paid; price not published |
Why the free tier matters. Many free tiers stop at simple returns, so a single T5 slip for bank interest, a donation receipt or a medical expense can push you to a paid tier. At Wealthsimple, Basic stays available whatever is on your return. That is why it earns a 5.0 price sub-score, while TurboTax and H&R Block earn 3.5.
A fair price to pay. If the software saves you money compared with what you paid last year, you may choose to pay something on Basic. There is no penalty for paying $0, and the features do not change with the amount you choose.
5. Wealthsimple Tax Plus: Who Needs It
What Plus adds for $40. Plus costs $40 plus tax for the 2025 tax year and covers up to 8 returns. It adds priority email support with replies in about 1 day, audit protection and spousal filing. Premium and Generation clients get it at no charge.
Households with more than 2 returns. Basic stops at 2 returns. A family filing for two parents and an adult child who lives at home needs 3 returns, which puts it on Plus. At $40 for up to 8 returns, that works out to about $13.33 a return for 3 returns ($40 ÷ 3) before tax, and $5 a return for 8 ($40 ÷ 8).
People who want faster answers. The difference between a 3-day and a 1-day reply matters most close to the filing deadline. If you tend to file late in the season, priority support can be the reason to pay.
| Your situation | Plan that fits | Your cost before sales tax |
|---|---|---|
| One or two returns, happy with email in about 3 days | Basic | What you choose, including $0 |
| Three to eight returns in the household | Plus | $40 |
| Want audit protection or priority email | Plus | $40 |
| Premium client ($100,000 or more with Wealthsimple) | Plus included | $0 |
| Want a 30-minute expert consultation, outside Quebec | Pro | $80 |
| Generation client ($500,000 or more), outside Quebec | Pro included | $0 |
When Plus is not worth it. If you file one or two returns and do not need faster support or audit protection, Plus adds nothing to the return itself. Basic uses the same tax calculations.
6. Wealthsimple Tax Pro and Expert Help
What Pro adds. Pro costs $80 plus tax for the 2025 tax year, or nothing for Generation clients. On top of the Plus features, it includes one 30-minute consultation with a tax expert and year-round access to tax experts, with audit protection. The consultation was guaranteed only if booked before April 6, 2026, which matters because demand peaks as the filing deadline nears.
What 30 minutes can cover. Half an hour is enough for a focused question: how to report a home office for employment, whether a capital loss can be carried back, how to split pension income with a spouse, or how to report a first year of self-employment. It is not enough for an expert to prepare or review a whole complex return. Write your questions down and have your slips open before the call.
| Product | Expert option | Quebec |
|---|---|---|
| Wealthsimple Tax | Pro: one 30-minute consultation and year-round experts | Pro not available in Quebec |
| TurboTax Canada | Expert Assist (questions and a final review); Expert Full Service (an expert does the return) | Full Service not available in Quebec |
| H&R Block Canada | Expert Help add-on (price not shown); in-office, drop-off and remote services | Files with Revenu Quebec |
| CloudTax | Live chat on Plus; Review & File; Done For You | Not confirmed |
| UFile | Free phone support; no paid expert review listed | Files with Revenu Quebec |
| GenuTax | None mentioned | Not confirmed |
| StudioTax | None offered | Not confirmed |
Who should consider Pro. Pro suits people outside Quebec with one or two specific questions each year who are otherwise happy to prepare their own return. A new landlord, a first-year contractor or someone who sold a large investment may find a short consultation worth $80.
Choosing between accounts. A consultation is a good time to ask whether a TFSA or RRSP contribution suits your income better; our TFSA vs RRSP comparison lays out the trade-off first.
Who should look past Pro. If you want someone to prepare the return, look at full-service options, such as TurboTax Expert Full Service or H&R Block’s in-office service, or hire a professional accountant. Quebec residents cannot buy Pro at all, so their expert-help choices are other products or a professional.
7. NETFILE, Auto-Fill and Filing With Wealthsimple Tax
NETFILE certified. Wealthsimple Tax is certified by the Canada Revenue Agency and Revenu Quebec for the 2023, 2024 and 2025 tax years. Certification means the software can send your return directly to the CRA (and to Revenu Quebec for a Quebec return) instead of you mailing paper. All seven products in our ranking are certified for the 2025 tax year.
Auto-fill on every plan. Every Wealthsimple Tax plan can import the tax slips that the CRA and Revenu Quebec have on file for you. That saves typing and cuts the risk of missing a slip. Slips that arrive late, or that the issuer files late, may not appear, so compare the imported list with the paper and PDF slips you received before you submit.
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| NETFILE certification | CRA and Revenu Quebec, tax years 2023, 2024 and 2025 |
| Auto-fill | Slips imported from the CRA and Revenu Quebec on all plans |
| Tax year priced | 2025 tax year, filed in 2026 |
| RRSP deadline for the 2025 tax year | March 2, 2026 |
| Company behind the software | SimpleTax Software Inc. |
Who makes it. Wealthsimple Tax is offered by SimpleTax Software Inc., one of the legal entities in the Wealthsimple group. It is separate from Wealthsimple Investments Inc., the dealer that holds investment accounts.
Why filing matters even with little income. The CRA works out several benefits from your return. The Canada Groceries and Essentials Benefit, which replaced the GST/HST credit from the July 3, 2026 payment, pays up to $679 a year to a single person for July 2026 to June 2027. Filing a return, even on Basic for $0, is how the CRA assesses you for those payments. Our GST/HST credit and payment dates guide and CRA benefit payment dates page list the dates.
Deductions to claim before you file. RRSP contributions made by the deadline for the tax year reduce your taxable income; for the 2025 tax year, that deadline was March 2, 2026. FHSA contributions must be made by December 31 of the year, with no 60-day period. Our RRSP tax refund calculator and FHSA calculator show what each contribution is worth.
8. Wealthsimple Tax in Quebec and in French
Basic and Plus work in Quebec. Quebec residents file two returns: a federal return with the CRA and a provincial return with Revenu Quebec. Wealthsimple Tax Basic and Plus handle both and are available in French. They are certified with Revenu Quebec for the 2023 to 2025 tax years and can import slips from Revenu Quebec through auto-fill.
Pro does not. Pro is not available in Quebec or in French, and its live consultation is not available to Quebec residents. A Generation client in Quebec, who would otherwise get Pro included, gets Plus-level service there.
| Product | Quebec returns | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Wealthsimple Tax | Basic and Plus | Pro not available in Quebec or in French |
| TurboTax Canada | Do It Yourself, Expert Assist and Desktop | Expert Full Service not available in Quebec |
| H&R Block Canada | Yes | Instant Refund applies only to the federal portion |
| UFile | Yes | Files electronically with Revenu Quebec |
| CloudTax | Not confirmed | Not mentioned on its pages |
| GenuTax | Not confirmed | Not mentioned on its pages |
| StudioTax | Not confirmed for 2025 | Quebec support for 2025 not stated |
Why the Quebec score is full marks. Our Quebec sub-score asks only whether a product files Quebec returns. Wealthsimple does, on two of its three plans, so it scores 5.0. If expert help in French matters to you, weigh the Pro gap separately.
A practical tip for Quebec filers. Quebec has its own slips (the RL series) and its own credits. When you check the auto-filled data, compare the RL slips as carefully as the federal T slips, because a missing RL slip affects only the Quebec return and is easy to overlook.
9. Self-Employed, Rental and Investment Income
Self-employment (form T2125). Wealthsimple Tax has a T2125 section for business and professional income, and Basic covers all income types. A freelancer or sole proprietor can therefore report self-employment income without paying for a higher plan. Keep records of every business expense, because the software only reports what you enter.
Rental income (form T776). Wealthsimple’s published plan details do not confirm support for form T776, the statement of real estate rentals. If you earn rental income, please confirm in the product that it handles T776 before you start. Our tax software picker marks this as not confirmed for Wealthsimple, and for most other products too.
| Income or claim | Basic | Plus | Pro |
|---|---|---|---|
| Employment (T4) | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Self-employment (T2125) | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Investment income and capital gains | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Rental income (T776) | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| All deductions and credits | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Investment income and capital gains. Basic covers investment income, including capital gains and losses. For the 2025 tax year, half of a capital gain is included in income. If you trade stocks, ETFs or crypto, you need your adjusted cost base for each sale, which the software cannot work out on its own from a sale slip. Our capital gains tax calculator shows the tax on a gain, and our Wealthsimple Crypto review explains how crypto dispositions are reported.
Registered accounts. TFSA withdrawals are not reported as income. RRSP and RRIF withdrawals are, and FHSA contributions are deducted. Make sure each RRSP and FHSA contribution receipt is entered, including any from the first 60 days of the year for RRSPs. If you repay a Home Buyers’ Plan withdrawal, designate the repayment on your return; our Home Buyers’ Plan guide explains the schedule. Our RRSP guide and FHSA guide explain how each is taxed.
10. Wealthsimple Tax Maximum Refund Guarantee
The rule. Wealthsimple offers a maximum refund guarantee. If you re-file with a competitor before December 31, 2026, Wealthsimple refunds the competitor’s price up to $50, or what you paid Wealthsimple, whichever is greater. The guarantee is built around getting a better result elsewhere, so read its full conditions before you rely on it.
| You paid Wealthsimple | Competitor’s price | Competitor price, capped at $50 | Refund (the greater amount) |
|---|---|---|---|
| $0 (Basic) | $30 | $30 | $30 |
| $0 (Basic) | $70 | $50 | $50 |
| $40 (Plus) | $30 | $30 | $40 |
| $40 (Plus) | $45 | $45 | $45 |
| $80 (Pro) | $100 | $50 | $80 |
What it means in practice. A Basic user who paid $0 and re-files with a $70 product would get $50 back, the capped competitor price. A Plus user who paid $40 and re-files with a $30 product would get $40, because their own payment is greater. The guarantee never pays more than the larger of $50 or what you paid Wealthsimple.
Does it matter. Certified tax software applies the same tax law, so a correctly entered return should produce the same result in any of them. Differences usually come from data entry, missed slips or missed claims, not from the software. The guarantee is a safety net, not a reason to expect a bigger refund.
Deadline. The re-filing window ends December 31, 2026 for returns filed under the current terms. If you think a claim was missed, the faster route is often to change your return with the CRA, which does not require switching software.
Not sure Wealthsimple fits your return? Compare all seven NETFILE-certified products, ranked by our published score.
11. Wealthsimple Tax for Premium and Generation Clients
Included plans by tier. Core clients pay for Plus or Pro if they want them. Premium clients, with $100,000 or more in assets at Wealthsimple, get Plus included. Generation clients, with $500,000 or more, get Pro included, outside Quebec.
| Tier | Assets with Wealthsimple | Basic | Plus | Pro |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core | From $1 | Pay what you want | $40 plus tax | $80 plus tax |
| Premium | $100,000 or more | Pay what you want | Included | $80 plus tax |
| Generation | $500,000 or more | Pay what you want | Included | Included (not in Quebec) |
Is it a reason to move assets? On its own, no. Plus is worth $40 a year and Pro $80, small amounts next to the other effects of moving investments, such as fees and the service you get. Count the tax plan as one perk among several. Premium also cuts the managed investing fee from 0.5% to 0.4%, includes a USD account and waives the Wealthsimple credit card‘s $20 monthly fee.
How the tier is measured. Your tier is the higher of your net deposits or your total portfolio value across Wealthsimple, and household members at the same address can combine assets. Upgrades are automatic and take at least one business day. Our Core vs Premium vs Generation guide covers every perk. Enter your assets in the tier finder below to see which plan you would get included.
12. Wealthsimple Tax Pros and Cons
How to read this list. Each point comes from Wealthsimple’s published plans and terms for the 2025 tax year, checked on October 22, 2026, and from our tax software scores.
Pros
- Top tax software score of the seven we rank: 4.8 / 5
- Basic is pay what you want, including $0, for up to 2 returns
- No limits on income types or deductions on any plan
- Self-employment (T2125) supported on Basic
- Auto-fill of slips from the CRA and Revenu Quebec on every plan
- NETFILE certified with the CRA and Revenu Quebec
- Basic and Plus available in Quebec and in French
- Plus included for Premium clients, Pro for Generation clients
- Maximum refund guarantee of up to $50 or what you paid, whichever is greater
Cons
- Rental income (T776) support not confirmed
- No expert review or full-service preparation in the published plans
- Pro not available in Quebec or in French
- Pro’s return count differs between Wealthsimple’s own pages
- Basic email support replies in about 3 days
- Pro consultation guaranteed only if booked before April 6, 2026
- Prices for the 2026 tax year not yet published
The balance. For anyone comfortable preparing their own return, the pros win easily: a full-featured product at a price you set. The cons bite only for landlords, people who want an expert to do the work, and Quebec residents who want expert help.
13. Wealthsimple Tax vs TurboTax, H&R Block and Others
The ranking. We rank seven products that appear on the CRA’s NETFILE-certified software list for the 2025 tax year. Scores weigh price (35%), features (35%), support (15%) and Quebec filing (15%). Ties are ordered by the unrounded score, then by name.
| Rank | Product | Score | Free option | Paid pricing | Quebec returns | Expert help |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Wealthsimple Tax | 4.8 / 5 | Basic, pay what you want, including $0; all income types; 2 returns | Plus $40; Pro $80; plus tax | Basic and Plus | Pro: 30-minute consultation |
| 2 | H&R Block Canada | 4.5 / 5 | Straightforward T4 returns | Paid tiers; 2025 prices not confirmed | Yes | Expert Help add-on; in-office services |
| 3 | TurboTax Canada | 4.5 / 5 | Simple returns only | Priced by return complexity | Yes, except Full Service | Expert Assist; Expert Full Service |
| 4 | CloudTax | 4.3 / 5 | Free or pay what you want; 2 returns | Paid expert options; prices not labelled for 2025 | Not confirmed | Live chat; review; done for you |
| 5 | UFile | 3.8 / 5 | Students, simple returns, first-time filers, family income under $20,000 | ONLINE from $20.95; PREMIUM from $32.95 | Yes | Free phone support |
| 6 | GenuTax | 3.3 / 5 | Free for all | None | Not confirmed | None |
| 7 | StudioTax | 2.6 / 5 | Free mobile app | Desktop price not published | Not confirmed for 2025 | None |
Wealthsimple Tax vs TurboTax. TurboTax Free covers only simple returns and excludes investment, rental and self-employment income, donations and medical expenses. Its paid Do It Yourself, Expert Assist and Expert Full Service lines are priced by the complexity of your return. TurboTax wins on expert help: Expert Assist adds a final review, and Expert Full Service has an expert prepare the return. Wealthsimple wins on price for anyone who prepares their own return.
Wealthsimple Tax vs H&R Block. H&R Block’s free tier suits straightforward T4 returns. It offers an Expert Help add-on and in-office, drop-off and remote services, which Wealthsimple does not. The paid prices on its page carry no tax-year label, so we do not print them as 2025 prices.
Wealthsimple Tax vs CloudTax. CloudTax also offers a free or pay-what-you-want option for up to 2 returns and paid expert services, but it does not mention Quebec returns, which costs it on the Quebec factor.
Wealthsimple Tax vs UFile, GenuTax and StudioTax. UFile is free only for some filers and charges from $20.95 otherwise. GenuTax is free for everyone but offers no expert help and does not confirm Quebec support. StudioTax’s mobile app is free, but its desktop price is not published. Our best tax software ranking has a full card for each product.
14. Who Wealthsimple Tax Suits and Who Should Look Elsewhere
Do-it-yourself filers. If you are comfortable entering your own slips and claims, Basic gives you a full-featured return at a price you choose, including $0.
Couples and small households. Basic covers 2 returns. Plus covers up to 8 for $40 plus tax, which suits families filing for adult children or parents.
Freelancers and investors. Self-employment on T2125, investment income and capital gains are all on Basic. You pay only if you want faster support, audit protection or a consultation.
Wealthsimple Premium and Generation clients. If you already hold $100,000 or more at Wealthsimple, Plus costs you nothing, and at $500,000 Pro is included outside Quebec.
Look elsewhere if you own a rental. Until T776 support is confirmed, landlords should check the product carefully or use software that confirms rental income, such as TurboTax’s paid tiers.
Look elsewhere if you want someone to do it. Wealthsimple’s plans do not include full-service preparation. TurboTax Expert Full Service, H&R Block’s in-office service or a professional accountant fit better, especially for a business, a trust or a complex cross-border return.
What You Need and What You Get With Wealthsimple Tax
What you need to file with Wealthsimple Tax
- Your social insurance number and date of birth
- Access to your CRA account (and Revenu Quebec account in Quebec) for auto-fill
- Every tax slip: T4, T4A, T5, T3, T5008 and RL slips in Quebec
- RRSP and FHSA contribution receipts
- Records of business income and expenses if you are self-employed
- Adjusted cost base records for any investments or crypto you sold
- Receipts for donations, medical expenses, childcare and moving costs
- Your spouse’s or partner’s income details if you file as a couple
- Last year’s notice of assessment
What you get from Wealthsimple Tax
- Basic at a price you choose, including $0, for up to 2 returns
- All income types and deductions on every plan
- Auto-fill of slips from the CRA and Revenu Quebec
- NETFILE filing with the CRA and Revenu Quebec
- Plus at $40 plus tax: up to 8 returns, priority email and audit protection
- Pro at $80 plus tax: a 30-minute expert consultation and year-round experts
- Plus included for Premium and Pro included for Generation clients
- Basic and Plus in French and for Quebec returns
- A maximum refund guarantee until December 31, 2026
How Filing With Wealthsimple Tax Works
- Gather your documents. Collect every slip and receipt, and your last notice of assessment, before you start.
- Start a return. Begin on Basic. You can move to Plus or Pro later if you need more returns, faster support or an expert.
- Use auto-fill. Import the slips the CRA, and Revenu Quebec if you live in Quebec, have on file, then check them against your paper and PDF slips.
- Add what auto-fill cannot see. Enter self-employment income and expenses, the cost base of investments you sold, donations, medical expenses and other claims.
- Review the summary. Check your income, deductions and refund or balance owing, and fix anything that looks wrong before you submit.
- Choose your price and file. Pick what you pay on Basic, including $0, or pay for Plus or Pro, then file by NETFILE.
- Keep your records. Save a copy of the return and your supporting documents in case the CRA asks for them later.
10 Strategies to File for Less With Wealthsimple Tax
1. Start on Basic
Basic covers every income type and deduction at a price you choose, including $0. Most single filers and couples never need more. Move to a paid plan only for a clear reason: more than 2 returns, faster support, audit protection or an expert.
2. Count your returns
Basic stops at 2 returns and Plus covers up to 8 for $40 plus tax. A household of three adults needs Plus. Group all the returns you prepare under one Plus purchase rather than buying it more than once.
3. Check your Wealthsimple tier first
If your assets at Wealthsimple, or your household’s combined assets, reach $100,000, Plus is included. At $500,000, Pro is included outside Quebec. Check your tier before you pay for either plan.
4. Book Pro early
The Pro consultation was guaranteed only if booked before April 6, 2026. If you pay $80 for Pro, book the call early in the season so you are not left with a paid plan and no slot.
5. Use auto-fill, then check it
Auto-fill imports slips on every plan, which saves time and cuts errors. Compare the imported list with the slips you received, because a late or missing slip is the most common way a return goes wrong.
6. Claim every RRSP and FHSA receipt
RRSP and FHSA contributions are deductions, so a missed receipt costs you tax. For the 2025 tax year, the RRSP deadline was March 2, 2026, while FHSA contributions count only if made by December 31. See the RRSP contribution limit guide.
7. Track your cost base all year
The software reports what you enter. For stocks, ETFs and crypto, keep your adjusted cost base current through the year, including fees, so your capital gains are right and you do not overpay.
8. Confirm rental support before you start
T776 rental support is not confirmed in Wealthsimple’s plan details. If you own a rental, check in the product before you begin, so you do not prepare most of a return and then have to switch.
9. File even with low income
The CRA assesses benefits such as the Canada Groceries and Essentials Benefit, up to $679 a year for a single person from July 2026 to June 2027, from your return. Filing on Basic for $0 costs nothing and keeps you assessed.
10. Know the refund guarantee terms
If you re-file with a competitor before December 31, 2026, Wealthsimple refunds the competitor’s price up to $50, or what you paid, whichever is greater. Read the full conditions before you count on it.
Illustrative Example: What One Household Pays for Wealthsimple Tax
This example is hypothetical. The Bakers live in Ontario. Two parents and their adult son, who freelances as a designer, each file a return for the 2025 tax year. The parents hold $70,000 at Wealthsimple between them and are Core clients, and the son holds $35,000 there. All three share the same home address.
- Returns needed: 3, which is more than the 2 that Basic covers, so the household needs Plus.
- Plus price: $40 plus sales tax for up to 8 returns, or about ($40 ÷ 3 = $13.33) a return before tax.
- Over five years at today’s price: ($40 x 5 = $200) before sales tax.
- If the three form a Wealthsimple household, their combined assets are ($70,000 + $35,000 = $105,000), which reaches Premium at $100,000. Plus is then included, saving $40 a year, or $200 over five years before tax.
- The son’s self-employment income goes on form T2125, which every plan supports, so it does not change the plan they need.
- If the household paid $40 for Plus and later re-filed with a competitor charging $30 before December 31, 2026, the refund would be the greater of the capped competitor price ($30) and what they paid ($40), so $40.
- If one parent wanted a 30-minute expert consultation, Pro would cost $80 plus tax, or nothing if the household reached Generation at $500,000.
Use the tax software picker near the top of this page to check which plan, at Wealthsimple or elsewhere, covers your own household’s situation.
Wealthsimple Tax Review FAQ
Is Wealthsimple Tax really free?
Basic can be. For the 2025 tax year, Wealthsimple Tax Basic is pay what you want, including $0, for up to 2 returns, with no limits on income types or deductions. You pay only if you choose to on Basic, or if you buy Plus at $40 plus tax or Pro at $80 plus tax for more returns, faster support, audit protection or an expert consultation.
How much does Wealthsimple Tax Plus cost?
Plus costs $40 plus sales tax for the 2025 tax year and covers up to 8 returns. It adds priority email support with replies in about 1 day, audit protection and spousal filing. Premium clients, with $100,000 or more in assets at Wealthsimple, and Generation clients get Plus included at no charge.
What does Wealthsimple Tax Pro include?
Pro costs $80 plus tax for the 2025 tax year and is included for Generation clients. It adds one 30-minute consultation with a tax expert, guaranteed if booked before April 6, 2026, year-round access to tax experts and audit protection. Pro is not available in Quebec or in French, and Wealthsimple’s pages give two different counts for its return limit.
Is Wealthsimple Tax NETFILE certified?
Yes. Wealthsimple Tax is certified by the Canada Revenue Agency for NETFILE and by Revenu Quebec for the 2023, 2024 and 2025 tax years. That lets you send your return electronically from the software. All three plans can also import your tax slips from the CRA and Revenu Quebec through auto-fill.
Can I use Wealthsimple Tax in Quebec?
Yes, on Basic and Plus. Both plans file the federal and Quebec returns, work in French and can import slips from Revenu Quebec. Pro is not available in Quebec or in French, and its live consultation is not offered to Quebec residents, so a Quebec filer who wants expert help needs another product or a professional.
Does Wealthsimple Tax handle self-employment income?
Yes. Wealthsimple Tax has a section for form T2125, the statement of business or professional activities, and Basic covers all income types. A freelancer or sole proprietor can report business income and expenses without upgrading. You still need good records, because the software reports only the income and expenses you enter.
Does Wealthsimple Tax support rental income?
Not confirmed. Wealthsimple’s published plan details do not confirm support for form T776, the statement of real estate rentals. If you earn rental income, check in the product before you start your return. Our tax software picker marks rental support as not confirmed for Wealthsimple and most other products.
How many returns can I file with Wealthsimple Tax?
Basic covers up to 2 returns and Plus up to 8, for the 2025 tax year. Wealthsimple’s plan chart and FAQ give different figures for Pro, so we do not state one. A household filing 3 to 8 returns can buy one Plus plan for $40 plus tax, or get it included at the Premium tier.
What is the Wealthsimple Tax maximum refund guarantee?
If you re-file with a competitor before December 31, 2026, Wealthsimple refunds the competitor’s price up to $50, or what you paid Wealthsimple, whichever is greater. A Basic user who paid $0 and re-files with a $70 product gets $50. A Plus user who paid $40 and re-files with a $30 product gets $40. Read the full conditions first.
Is Wealthsimple Tax better than TurboTax?
For people who prepare their own return, Wealthsimple scores higher, 4.8 / 5 against 4.5 / 5, because its pay-what-you-want Basic plan covers every income type while TurboTax Free covers simple returns only. TurboTax is stronger if you want expert help, with Expert Assist adding a final review and Expert Full Service preparing the return for you.
Is Wealthsimple Tax included with Premium or Generation?
Yes. Premium clients, with $100,000 or more in assets at Wealthsimple, get Plus included. Generation clients, with $500,000 or more, get Pro included, though Pro is not available in Quebec. Your tier is the higher of your net deposits or total portfolio value, and household members at the same address can combine assets.
Does Wealthsimple Tax import my tax slips?
Yes. Every plan, including Basic, can import the slips that the CRA and Revenu Quebec have on file for you. Check the imported list against the slips you received, because a slip filed late by its issuer may not appear, and add anything auto-fill cannot see, such as the cost base of investments you sold.
Ready to compare Wealthsimple Tax with every NETFILE-certified product, ranked by our published score?
How we check figures and correct errors is set out in our editorial standards. For the rest of the product line, start with our complete Wealthsimple review, see the full list of Wealthsimple fees, or browse all broker, bank and platform reviews.
Figures on this page were checked against each provider’s published pricing and Canada Revenue Agency publications on October 22, 2026. We update this page when a figure changes.
Meet the Experts Behind WealthScale

Sharad is a CPA Ontario member (No. 61040184) and a Certified Public Accountant licensed in Washington and Montana, with more than 15 years in accounting and tax, a Diploma in Banking and Finance and a Certificate in Small Business Finance. He checks WealthScale content against primary sources. WealthScale is independent of his firm, Gondaliya CPA Professional Corporation, and provides general information only, not personal financial, investment, tax or legal advice.
- Chartered Professional Accountant, CPA Ontario
- Certified Public Accountant, Washington (No. 57629) and Montana (No. PAC-CPAP-LIC-033176)
- Writing on tax and registered accounts since 2021
- Reader’s Choice Award 2025 Winner, Best Accountant (Toronto)

Neha Gupta is a CFA charterholder based in Winnipeg who has worked in financial markets since December 2005. She has published more than 2,600 investment articles and is Head of Operations and Finance at Whiteland Real Estate. She reviews WealthScale’s investing pages for accuracy.
- CFA charter, CFA Institute (awarded 2023)
- Post Graduate Diploma in Business Administration (Finance), 2008
- In financial markets since December 2005
- More than 2,600 published investment articles
General information only. Not financial, investment, tax or legal advice. WealthScale is independent and is published by WealthScale Media Inc., 55 Queen St E, Suite 1205, Toronto, ON M5C 1R6. CFA® and Chartered Financial Analyst® are registered trademarks owned by CFA Institute.